Skip to main content

ENG 102 - Wilson: Film Review Resources

Use these links to learn about movies and find film critiques and reviews.

Film Review and Information Websites and Relevant Library Resources

Use the sites below to explore movies - they have plot synopses, reviews, cast & crew listings and more.

  • AllMovie.com - each film entry has a synopsis, review, cast & crew list and an AllMovie rating. Related films are also linked.
  • Internet Movie Database - this database features film release date and viewer reviews, among other things.
  • Movie Review Query Engine (MRQE) - this great site compiles dozens of reviews from different sources onto one page. Reviews from newspapers, Rolling Stone, and online review sites are usually included.
  • YouTube - search film titles here for movie trailers and clips. TIP - search for movie title AND main actor (or director) to get what you want (for example; payback and gibson, godfather and pacino, etc.).

Also, take a look in various library resources to possibly find information about directors and films.

Library Book Catalog - search Subject Browse for director, last name first (see below):

 

If the person is in the database, you will see a reference with a number of books (or films). Click the name to see a list of materials:

EBSCO Database

  • The EBSCO database is a great way to find magazines and journals and digital books about films, actors and directors. Search by movie title or personal name. The databases listed in this Research Guide are available only to Truckee Meadows Community College students, faculty and staff. You will need your TMCC credentials (Username and Password) to access them off-campus.‚Äč
    • EBSCO eBooks - Search here for books about movies, directors, etc.  There are at least 3 books about Speilberg in this database.
    • EBSCO journals - here you may find magazine and journal articles about films and directors.  Search the selected collections Academic Search and MasterFILE.