Skip to main content

AAD 201 The Built Environment - Kreg Mebust: Gale Virtual reference Library

This LibGuide is designed to connect you with resources invaluable to your 5 page essay about a building of historical importance from the perspective of a travel writer who experienced this structure/complex during the time of the actual construction or

Gale Virtual reference Library

To access the Gale Virtual Reference Library go to the Library web page, click Databases and Journals and at the next screen scroll down to Digital Reference Collections and click Gale Virtual Reference Library.  Your Canvas/MyTMCC login and password will provide remote access to this and all library databases. Once you enter this database a list of titles appear.  Click on the title, Art and Humanities Through the Ages. 

At the choose a volume pull-down menu select the era most relevant to your historic structure. The options are:

Ancient Egypt, 2675 - 332 BCE

Ancient Greece and Rome, 1200 BCE - 476 CE

Medieval Europe, 814 - 1450

Renaissance Europe, 1300 - 1600

Age of the Baroque and Enlightenment, 1600 - 1800

Each of the options provide access to detailed articles on:

architecture and design, dance, fashion, literature, music, philosophy, religion, theater and visual arts.

When we click on Architecture and Design for Ancient Egypt the following links appear:

TOPICS in Architecture and Design

Each article has a MLA citation for you to copy and paste.
 
Encyclopedia of Religion
Another Gale Encyclopedia source to use is the Encyclopedia of Religion.  Throughout time the greatest landmarks of a civilization have been the temples, cathedrals, and spiritual structures designed for worship. 
Encyclopedia of ReligionLindsay Jones, ed. 2nded. Detroit, MI: Macmillan Reference USA, 2005. 10735 pp. 15 vols.
The second edition of a resource that is considered a standard reference in the field. Presents a cross-cultural approach that emphasizes religion's role within everyday life and as a unique experience from culture to culture. 
Type Architecture in the Search box located underneath Search Within This Publication. You can also search specifically by your structure of religious worship.   When I typed Architecture in the search box I received results for: 
Basilica, cathedral and church, sacred space, Temple: Buddhist Temple Compounds, Temple: Ancient Near Eastern And Mediterranean, Temple: Daoist, Mosque Architectural Aspects, Mosque History and Traditions, among numerous other articles.  Each article has a topic specific MLA citation.
Woodward, Hiram. "Temple: Buddhist Temple Compounds in Southeast Asia." Encyclopedia of Religion, edited by Lindsay
          Jones, 2nd ed., vol. 13, Macmillan Reference USA, 2005, pp. 9052-9056. Gale eBooks,
           https://link.gale.com/apps/doc/CX3424503071/GVRL?u=tmcc_main&sid=GVRL&xid=75874a4e. Accessed 20 Feb. 2020.