Skip to main content

Anthro 201 - Wilhelm - Afghanistan Resources: Research Comprehensive Pathfinder

Afghanistan

Pathfinder

 

Cultural Anthropology Pathfinder

Goal: To explore the background of an ethnic group through all facets of daily life from cultural identification, historic and cultural relations, settlements, commercial activities, labor division, land use, kinship, marriage and family, social organization, arts, and religious beliefs and practices.

Online Resources:

eHARF World Cultures: This is the definitive resource for exploring a world culture. To access this database follow these steps:

Go to the TMCC home page.

At the TMCC home page click Library located on the white banner

Next click Databases and Journals

Scroll down to Digital Reference Collections

Click eHarf World Cultures (From home use the TMCC login/password you use for Canvas/My TMCC)

Type your culture in the search box.  If you have not selected a culture click the Browse Cultures button.

 

Online  Cultural Anthropology Encyclopedias

Return to the Databases and Journals page.

Scroll down to Digital Reference Collections.

Click Gale Virtual Reference Library.  There are four collections to investigate.

  1. Nations & World which includes the following encyclopedias: Countries and Their Cultures, Encyclopedia of World Cultures and Encyclopedia of Food and Culture.
  2. Multicultural Studies which includes the following encyclopedias: Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America, Encyclopedia of Native American Tribes.
  3. Religion which includes: Encyclopedia of Religion, Worldmark Encyclopedia of Religious Practices.
  4. Social Sciences which includes: Encyclopedia of Multicultural Psychology, Encyclopedia of Race and Racism, Encyclopedia of Race Ethnicity and Society, Social Change in America.

 

ebooks  - There are two ebook collections to access. ebook Collection EBSCO and ebook Central.

To access the ebooks return to the Databases and Journals page.

Scroll down to ebook collections.  Click on either ebook collection. Again, from home use your student login/password to access these collections. Type your culture in the search box and note that a number of sub-categories appear to narrow your search. Such categories include: culture, language, textiles, religion, and community.

 

The larger of the two book collections is EBSCO.  Click the EBSCO ebook link. As an example type Sikh in the search box.  As you type an algorithm of sub-topics will appear. For Sikh they include: religion, beliefs, history, and culture.  Note over 40 titles will appear in the retrieved list. Click one title and on the left side of the screen below Related Information click Table of Contents. As with a physical book, you have the ability to go directly to the most relevant chapters which saves you time and provides you an overall view of the book’s content and relevancy to your research. By clicking Cite on the right hand side of the screen you are able to copy and paste the Citation style most appropriate to this course.

 

EBSCO Databases

Scroll down the Library Database page to: Journals, Magazines and Newspapers. Click EBSCO.

Under the yellow continue button click Select to search all the EBSCO suite databases.  Type your ethnic group into the search box.  Every article and book related to that ethnic group will appear. At the left side of the screen place a check mark in the Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) box to limit the search to exclusively scholarly journal articles. You can also limit your search by other factors such as additional keywords linked by AND (Navajo and pottery and jewelry) and date range.

Scan the list of titles for the articles you believe are most relevant to your research topic. Click on one of those titles and read the abstract. If you wish to use this article and there is a choice between HTML and PDF always select PDF for it will give you the image of the actual printed article and the exact pagination to use when you cite facts, quotes, and other article content.

I recommend you copy and paste the citation (located on the right hand side: Cite), the permalink, and the abstract in a Word document to assemble your research and to get instantaneous access to your research articles.  Also, if the instructor requires 5 articles, take at least another 3, so that if you don’t have enough content to drive the paper you have an immediate reserve to draw upon. This saves time and avoids bloating a paper with repetition or unnecessary content. 

 

JSTOR - An interdisciplinary archive of thousands of peer-reviewed journals in the arts, humanities, and social sciences.  Return to the Databases and Journal page. Click JSTOR.  Type your search in the box.  The results screen provides the article link, the ability to download the PDF, save and cite. When you click on the article title an abstract appears to the left of the article. Again, you can place the article citation, link, and abstract in a preliminary Word works cited page to organize your research. Use the AND linkage to narrow your search results (Sikh and Nationalism).

 

Anthropology Videos

Located at the bottom of the Journals and databases page you will find two excellent video databases:

Ethnographic Video Online -  The use of film in anthropological research is a century-old methodology, from the early days when cameras were instruments for documentation in the field, to contemporary studies which turn the camera inward as a tool of inquiry into the ethnographer’s own community. The last 100 years have resulted in irreplaceable repositories of primary source film depicting the richness of human culture, behavior and diversity around the world. These films can be viewed at home using your Canvas/MyTMCC login. Citations are available for all films as well.

 

Kanopy Fims – Documentary and international feature films that inspire critical thinking about social, political, and cultural impacts. These are award winning films and documentaries that can be accessed using your Canvas/MyTMCC login.

 

Librarians

Due to the school closing I am available by phone 775-376-4018. Do not hesitate to contact me if you require research assistance.

Librarians are the key to working efficiently, effectively, and effortlessly. We can assist you in beginning your research, narrowing or expanding your research, and locating the best resources within 15 minutes. Contact us at library@tmcc.edu or by phone 674-7602 to ensure your success in academic research.