Skip to main content

Eng 102 THTR 210 Cardoza/Andersen: EBSCO Journals

Play Library Resource Guide

EBSCO Journal Articles

In the JSTOR LibGuide entry I have listed recommended  keywords to utilize in a search. Refer back to JSTOR for these keywords.

The EBSCO full text journal databases provide access to thousands of publications to support your research.  The first three databases on the list are set as default databases.  You can also select additional databases to locate articles in specific fields such as political science, philosophy, behavioral science, psychology, that can provide resources to support your research paper claims. For example, in regard to Fences which portrays an African-American family living in the inner city under adverse economic conditions and attempting to stay together as a family, one may select the EBSCO psychology, political science, and even business databases to examine facts, statistics, and experiences shared by other individuals growing up in the inner city environment. Relational articles provide even greater insight as to the trials and tribulations, as well as positive connections, associated with the play's themes and meanings. 

For example, when I exclusively search the Political Science Complete subject specific database using the keywords: African American and ghetto numerous articles that could be applied to understanding the environment of Fences are retrieved. for example:

Glaser, Mark A., et al. “Community of Choice or Ghetto of Last Resort: Community Development and the Viability of an African              American Community1.” Review of Policy Research, vol. 20, no. 3, Fall 2003, pp. 525–548. EBSCOhost, doi:10.1111/1541-            1338.00034.

https://ezproxy.tmcc.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=poh&AN=10511927&site=ehost-live&scope=site

Abstract The viability of local government-sponsored community development of poor ethnic enclaves hinges on the perceptions of residents. If residents view the enclave in which they live as their “community of choice,” they will be more likely to join with local government to coproduce community improvement. Residents who see their enclave as their community of choice tend to hold positive perceptions of neighbors and neighborhood and are less fearful of crime. Conversely, those who see the enclave where they live as a “ghetto of last resort” commonly are not meeting their economic expectations, are uneasy about race related issues, and are concerned about the desirability of their neighborhood. Government should not employ a community development strategy to preserve a “ghetto of last resort” where most residents remain because they feel they have few options. The vast majority of the residents examined here view the enclave where they live as their community of choice. [ABSTRACT FROM AUTHOR]

Note I have copied the MLA citation, included the permalink for future access, and added the article abstract so that at a later moment I can reflect back on why I thought this article could contribute to my research paper. If you do this with your articles you will have the essence of your works cited page. Upon completion of the writing you would then delete the link and abstract and arrange the resources alphabetically by author.

The abstract is a summary of the article.  This summary addresses the major concepts of the article in one paragraph, thus saving you research time and providing a concept for arranging resources by the value of perceived contribution to your paper.

Always link your search keywords using AND.  Pay attention to subject keywords provided by EBSCO.

Subject Terms:
*COMMUNITY development
*COMMUNITIES
*MINORITIES
*EXCLAVES
AFRICAN Americans

EBSCO allows you to choose numerous databases to search simultaneously, thus saving time and producing the greatest retrieval results. As such, you may wish to limit your search by one or two databases at a time to focus on a specific academic theme. 

If available, always use the PDF instead of the HTML for an article for the PDF provides the actual reproduction of the article.  This means that when citing, or quoting a passage, you will be able to cite the actual page where the information came from.