LibGuides: Natural Disasters: Videos

Videos

The TMCC Library owns a number of fine videos about various disasters. Use the Library Catalog, and set the "Limit to: Videos."

Videos are kept in several places in the Library. All DVDs and some VHS cassettes are kept behind the Circulation Desk and must be used in the Library except for showing in a class:

Course Reserves
AV Reserve
Feature Films

VHS Cassettes that are not on Reserve are kept in the Video Collection and can be checked out of the Library.

Library Catalog

YouTube

YouTube

Because nearly everyone in the world has an I-phone, a surprising number of recent disasters have been recorded. In addition, there are many videos about specific disasters or types of natural hazards posted free online from National Public Television and government sources. YouTube videos can disappear from the website, so they are not necessarily a reliable source.

Databases

Three Databases contain abundant videos. These databases require passwords for off-campus use. See the Librarian for assistance.

Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center
- Why search this database?
  This is a good source for finding opposing viewpoint essays.
- What’s included?
  Contains opinion essays, journal and magazine articles, and videos on current topics.
- Looking for Articles?
  No journal articles.
U.S. History in Context
- Why search this database?
  A good source for background information on historical events in the U.S.
- What’s included?
  Short but well-written articles on major events and people from U.S.. history.
- Looking for Articles?
  No journals articles here.
World History in Context
- Why search this database?
  Provides coverage of events in world history, from absolutism to the two world wars.
- What’s included?
  
  Materials include topic summaries, journal and magazine articles and primary sources.
- Looking for Articles?
  No journal articles here.

Mount Pinatubo 1991

Examples of Videos

Dimming the Sun by directed by Duncan Copp ; produced by David Sington ; a DOX production for Nova/WGBH and BBC
Call Number: AV Reserves -- QC981.8 .G56 D56 2006 DVD
Publication Date: 2006
NOVA reports on the discovery that the amount of sunlight reaching Earth is dropping - a big surprise given international concern over global warming. Less sunlight might hardly seem to matter when our planet is stewing in greenhouse gases, but the discovery of global dimming due to airplane contrails has led some scientists to claim that the earth's climate is heating up much faster than most previous predictions.
In the Path of a Killer Volcano -- NOVA by WGBH Boston for Nova ; written, produced and directed by Rob Whittlesey and Noel Buckner
Call Number: AV Reserves - QE523 .P55 I68 2006 DVD
Publication Date: 2006
One of the finest science films ever made. In this NOVA, Stick around with the scientists who remain behind when the Philippines' Mount Pinatubo erupts and see astonishing footage of the world's largest volcanic eruption in 80 years. The scientists from the U.S. Geological Survey were able to predict the eruption with astonishing accuracy and save thousands of lives. The film vividly shows the power of the eruption and its aftermath.
The Next Wave: science of tsunamis by Discovery Channey
Call Number: AV Reserves GC223 .N49 2006 DVD
Publication Date: 2006
Most Pacific Rim countries participate in an advanced tsunami warning system -- but when the Indian Ocean Tsunami struck in 2004, no such warning system existed for that region. This program summarizes the events of the devastating "tele-tsunami" and explores the potential for future occurrences like it -- including scenarios involving widespread destruction in the United States. Following a country-by-country breakdown of the 2004 tragedy, the video shows how landslides can cause tsunamis of unimaginable power, how such a collapse in the Canary Islands could swamp America's East Coast, and how a truly global tsunami warning system might be established.