LibGuides: Natural Disasters: Electronic Reference Book Collections

Electronic Reference Book Databases

Gale Virtual Reference Library
- Why search this database?
  This collection gives you access to online versions of more than 24 specialized multi-volume encyclopedias with short articles about a broad variety of topics.
- What’s included?
  A collection of specialized encyclopedias covering the arts, education, environmental science, medicine and psychology and the social sciences.
- Looking for Articles?
  No peer-reviewed articles in this collection.

UXL Encyclopedia of Weather and Natural Disasters. Introduces students to the topic of weather and natural disasters, covering such topics as weather basics, weather phenomena, forecasting, and climate. Provides information on the scientific aspects of various types of disasters including: blizzards, earthquakes, flooding, tornadoes, volcanoes, and wildfires.

Homeland Security Digital Library The "Nation's premier collection of documents related to homeland security policy, strategy, and organizational management."
Sage e-Reference Reference books primarily with a social science orientation. A number of Sage's electronic reference books include entries on Natural Disasters, usually in regard to the effect on specific human populations or groups.

The databases listed in this Research Guide are available only to Truckee Meadows Community College students, faculty and staff. You will need your TMCC credentials (Username and Password) to access them off-campus.

Sample Entry from Online Reference Collection

From Gale Virtual Reference Library: search term: "climate change and refugees."

Refugees, Environmental
From Encyclopedia of Global Warming and Climate Change. IN THE LAST 10 years, the issue of environmental refugees has emerged as a pressing issue. Most refugees are fleeing from natural disasters such as the Asian tsunami in 2004, or as a result of the impacts of global climate change, such as sea level rise. As the executive director of the United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP) noted in 1989, “as many as 50 million people could become environmental refugees if the world does not support sustainable development.” Since then, many studies have considered this topic, with Norman Myers (one of the leading thinkers in this field) estimating that environmental refugees will soon become the largest group of involuntary migrants.

Natural Disasters: Electronic Reference Book Collections

Electronic Reference Book Databases

Sample Entry from Online Reference Collection

Earthquake Hyderabad