Skip to main content

Open Educational Resources: An Opportunity to Enhance Student Success: Images

Reuse, Revise, Remix and Redistribute: The Four Pillars toward course completion, improved grades, increased credit load, and overall student success. How the library can assist faculty in achieving these goals effectively and efficiently.

Images

IMAGES

Some of these sites are completely open access, while other sites offer only selected images for open access. Many of these sites also contain advertising and/or offer images for sale. Be sure to read each site's conditions for use carefully – different images from the same site may have different use restrictions. Please contact your librarian if you have questions.

 WebResourcesDepot  Here is a list of 12 free stock photo resources

Classroom Aid   Open Source Multimedia, Open Source Sound, Open Source Photos

PublicDomainPictures.net is a repository for free public domain images. Download high quality HD photos or upload your own. Make money from your hobby, gain popularity and improve your photographic and graphic skills. If you intend to use an image you find here for commercial use, please be aware that some photos do require a model or property release. Pictures featuring products should be used with care.

Public Domain Images  Public domain images, royalty free stock photos, copyright friendly free images. Not copyrighted, no rights reserved. All pictures on this site are explicitly placed in the public domain, free for any personal or commercial use.

Photographic Libraries  10 Links to free resources

Stock Exchange The best site to locate free stock photo's. The site contains in our opinion the best site to locate free stock photo's. The site contains thousands of free images that can be used. While many of the pictures are free some of the images do require written permission first.

Wikimedia Commons Fantastic media repository that is part of the Wikipedia umbrella project where users are free to use any of the sites photos, audio, videos, and other media freely.

Flickr: The Commons  A great feature from the popular photo sharing site Flickr where institutes such as The Library Of Congress, Powerhouse Museum, Brooklyn Museum, Smithsonian Institution, and various users can post and share images that have no known copyright restrictions.

 MorgueFile Another fantastic location to locate high resolution digital stock photography. The site offers thousands of free images almost all that have no restrictions or agreements attached. In addition the site requires no login to download the high quality files.

U.S. Government Graphics and Photos Another fantastic site linking to other U.S. government sites containing hundreds of thousands free and public domain images linking to image categories such as Air Force, forests, animals, Army, birds, coast guard, crops, fish, fire, fruits, geology, Indians, lab research, mammals, money, mountains, NASA, Navy, parks, plants, Presidents, space, storms, veggies, volcano's, war, wildlife, and much more.

 

Liam's pictures from Old Books A good collection of original pictures from old books that are no longer copyrighted and considered public domain. This is a great place to find obscure and unique pictures and illustration. 

 

Behold Visual search of Flickr photographs. Uses computer vision to recognize visual content, rather than relying on text tags. Limit to "free to use" or "free to modify."

Compfight Enhanced search of Flickr content. Limit to Creative Commons.

FlickrStorm Search overlay to Flickr. Retrieves images more images by using related tags. Select "Advanced" to limit to Creative Commons content.

Wylio  Searches only Creative Commons content in Flickr. Additional tools for blogs and websites, including resizing tool, photo credit builder, and code generator.

Art Images for College Teaching  Art and architecture images photographed by art historian and visual resources curator Allan Kohl.

Library of Congress Prints & Photographs Online Images from the Library of Congress, now in the public domain.

National Gallery of Art  With the launch of NGA Images, the National Gallery of Art implements an open access policy for digital images of works of art that the Gallery believes to be in the public domain. Images of these works are now available free of charge for any use, commercial or non-commercial. Users do not need to contact the Gallery for authorization to use these images. They are available for download at the NGA Images website (images.nga.gov)

Open-i Open Access Biomedical Image Search Engine The Open-i project aims to provide next generation information retrieval services for biomedical articles from the full text collections such as PubMed Central.

EduPic Graphical Resource  William Vann  provides free photographs and drawings for teachers and students to use in their classrooms. Mr. Vann is an amateur photograph (a good one at that) and a teacher. Mr. Vann gives permission to teachers and students to use the images in any manner needed for instructional and learning purposes.

ImageBase is a personal project of professional photographer David Niblack. contains more than one hundred pages of images that Mr. Niblack has released for free reuse and redistribution. In fact, the top of the website says "treat like public domain." In addition to the hundreds of images that are available, ImageBase also offers nearly one hundred free PowerPoint templates.

Photos 8 is a great place to find thousands of images that are in the public domain. These images can be used in any way that you and your students see fit. There are twenty-two categories of images of which the largest collections are of animals, birds, and sunsets.

Google Images  To find images that can be reused and remixed use Google's Advanced Image search options. To use the usage rights filter option, select "advanced image search" on the main Google Images page. Once in the "advanced image search" page, you will find the usage rights options at the bottom of the page. In the usage rights menu you can select one of four options; "labeled for reuse," "labeled for commercial.

Yahoo Images has an option similar to Google's for finding Creative Commons licensed images. When you search for images using Yahoo's image search tool, you can select filters to refine results to show only images that are licensed under Creative Commons. The filters allow you to select filters for images that can be used for commercial purposes or images that are licensed for remixing and building upon.

Animal Photos is a great source of Creative Commons licensed photos of animals. All of the photos are categorized by animal. Each image indicates the type of Creative Commons license associated with the picture.  

Digital Public Library of America The Digital Public Library of America brings together the riches of America's libraries, archives, and museums, and makes them freely available to the world.

Clip Art

Open Clip Art Library  Public domain contemporary graphics contributed by users.

Open Icon Library Open collection of icons.

Wikimedia Commons - Crystal Clear Icons Icon collection in the Wikimedia Commons.

Wikimedia Commons - Tango Icons  Icon collection in the Wikimedia Commons. 

  
Moving Images

Internet Archive   This library contains digital movies uploaded by Archive users which range from classic full-length films, to daily alternative news broadcasts, to cartoons and concerts. Many of these videos are available for free download.

Museum of the Moving Image  The Moving Image Source Research Guide is a gateway to the best online resources related to film, television, and digital media.

Open Video Project   The purpose of the Open Video Project is to collect and make available a repository of digitized video content for the digital video, multimedia retrieval, digital library, and other research communities.

  • URL: http://libguides.tcc.edu/OER
  • Profile Image
    Created by: Ruth Shumate, Librarian, Tidewater Community College, Virginia