Skip to main content

Dance: Dance Database Journals

An introduction to library and web based resources to support dance curriculum.

Dance Journals

 Journal articles are available from our databases.  The following are the full text peer reviewed journals specific to dance. Please note that articles on dance may appear in other scholarly journals as well. If your search of the dance specific journals does not retrieve enough articles to embrace your research use the default search.  To access the library databases click: http://www.tmcc.edu/library/databases/
You can select any of these journals specifically within the database and then use your search keywords to identify topic specific articles. 
 
JSTOR - full text
Dance Research Journal
Dance Research: The Journal of the Society for Dance Research
Dance Chronicle
PAJ: A Journal of Performance Arts
Theory into Practice
Emerging Bodies: The Performance of World Making and Choreography
Journal of Aesthetic Education
TDR
Cord News
Asian Theatre Journal
Educational Research
Theatre Journal
Anthropology and Education Quarterly
Ethnomusicology
more articles will appear in other journals as well
 
EBSCO - full text
Dance Magazine
Dance Spirit
Although there are only 2 dance specific journals in EBSCO, articles about dancers, choreographers and dance companies may appear in the default databases. In addition, when doing a search within the allied health and psychology EBSCO databases numerous articles appear as therapy or treatments which you may elect to use for research and to embrace interdisciplinary connectivity.
 
Gale - full text
Journal of Dance Medicine and Science
Back Stage