Culinary Arts: Cul 245

Knowledge is power, especially in the business would.  The more you know, the better off you and your business are likely to be. At the bottom of this page is a video lecture on the CUL 245 Library Assignment. You will also find a copy of the assignment. If you need helping finding these materials or have other research questions, contact your librarians. The library and Internet resources listed below will get you started:

Library Books (selected):

eBooks (selected) log in with your TMCC credentials:

• Purchasing: Selection and Procurement for the Hospitality Industry.
• Professional Personal Chef: the Business of Doing Business as a Personal Chef.
• Restaurant and Five Other Food Businesses - a great book that describes how to set up various restaurant concepts.
• Restaurant, Food & Beverage Market Research Handbook 2016-2017 - all sorts of industry data.
• The Restaurant Start-up Guide - month-by -month advice for planning and opening your restaurant.

Library Databases

• Library Catalog (which searches most of the library's resources, but NOT the Culinary Arts Collection)
• ABI/Inform - the main business database in the library collection.  This database features the Wall Street Journal and thousands of trade magazines and other resources.
• Culinary Arts Collection (Gale) - "Recipes, restaurant reviews, industry information, and more."

Internet Resources

• Nevada Small Business Development Center (NSBDC) - has valuable guides and assistance for opening a business in Nevada.
• Business Plan Summary at the Eat blog
• Business Plan Summary from OpenTable (fill out this form to get a copy of the the guide How to Open a Restaurant
• Food and Beverage Business Plans at Bplans (includes section on business structures (LLC, partnership, etc.).

CUL 245 Video Lecture on the Library Assignment 

CUL 245 Library Assignment