Skip to main content

History Resources: Magazine and Peer-Reviewed Journal Articles

A basic guide to locating information about History in the TMCC Library.

Passwords for Online Databases

Passwords

The databases listed in this Research Guide are available only to Truckee Meadows Community College students, faculty and staff. You will need your TMCC credentials (Username and Password) to access them off-campus.

What is a Peer-Reviewed Journal?

What Is a Peer-Reviewed Journal?

Peer Review is a process that journals use to ensure the articles they publish represent the best scholarship currently available. When an article is submitted to a peer reviewed journal, the editors send it out to other scholars in the same field (the author's peers) to get their opinion on the quality of the scholarship, its relevance to the field, its appropriateness for the journal, etc.

Publications that don't use peer review (Time, Cosmo, Salon) just rely on the judgement of the editors whether an article is up to snuff or not. That's why you can't count on them for solid, scientific scholarship. --University of Texas at Austin

Databases with Peer-Reviewed Journals in History

For database access, log into Canvas, click the  button in the upper right of any screen, and click TMCC Library Resources to get our database passwords.

JSTOR, Archived Academic Journals

JSTOR, a database of thousands of back issues of academic journals.

JSTOR includes the full-text contents of almost 500 academic history journals.

Greek Orator

Magazine Articles in History

A magazine is a periodical publication containing a collection of articles, stories, pictures, or other features.  It is not considered an academic or scholarly journal.  For example, History Today is a magazine.  The Journal of World History is a peer-reviewed journal.

Databases with Magazines in History