Skip to main content

History Resources: Videos

A basic guide to locating information about History in the TMCC Library.

Videos in the Library and Online

Videos in the TMCC Library are available in DVD format (must be viewed in the library or checked out by instructors) or are in VHS format, most of which may be checked out of the library.  In order to locate videos, it is most effective to search the Library Catalog by Keyword using AND and use the Limit menu set to Video.

Streaming videos are available on the Films on Demand database.  A password is required for off campus use.

The two History in Context databases include some videos but must be searched by topic.  Both require a password for off-campus access.

Videos in the TMCC Library

Here is a sample search of videos in the TMCC Library, using the Library Catalog.   The search, in Keyword using AND, was "history renaissance" limited to Videos, and sorted by Publication Date Descending, to see the newest videos first. 

Examples of Videos Located in the Search

Videos in the Films on Demand Database

A significant portion of the Films on Demand database collection is in history topics.  It is easier to browse the collection than to search this small database by keyword.

Examples of History Streaming Videos in Films on Demand

Videos in the History in Context Databases

U.S. History in Context and World History in Context may include occasional videos among the reference material, peer-reviewed journals, primary sources, and other materials in these very large databases.  Search by topic first, then check to see if any videos are listed in the sources retrieved.