Skip to main content

Nutrition Resources: Electronic Book Databases

How to find basic information, books, peer-reviewed journals, and websites on Nutrition.

Electronic Book Databases

The databases listed in this Research Guide are available only to Truckee Meadows Community College students, faculty and staff. You will need your TMCC credentials (Username and Password) to access them off-campus.

Sample eBrary Search and Results

The search term in eBrary was "nutrition."  Among the results were the following full-text books.

Electronic Reference Book Databases

Relevant Gale Encyclopedias:

Nutrition and Well Being, A to Z

This two-volume reference examines the relationship between food and health on a historical, national and personal level. It analyzes how nutrition has affected quality of life, health and fitness in various countries at different times in history. 2004.

Oxford Encyclopedia of Food and Drink in America

In 700 original, intriguing articles—from “Apple Pie” to “Zombie”— The Oxford Encyclopedia of Food and Drink in America covers the significant events, inventions, and social movements in American history that have affected the way Americans view, prepare, and consume food and drink. A collaboration of nearly 200 contributors from academia, industry, and the culinary world, the articles treat regions, people, ingredients, companies, advertising, historical eras, holidays and festivals, and political, scientific, and economic currents pertinent to American cuisine. 2005.

Encyclopedia of Health and Behavior.

This Encyclopedia was designed with the overarching goal to collect together in a single resource the knowledge generated by this interdisciplinary field, highlighting the links between science and practice. In it, scholars, health care practitioners and the general public will find a wealth of information on topics such as physical activity, stress and health, smoking, pain management, social support and health, cardiovascular health, health promotion, and HIV/AIDS.  2004.