Skip to main content

Psychology Resources: Reference Books

Locate a variety of basic psychology resources. The tabs above provide links to databases that search thousands of journals, newspapers, and books, as well as videos and quality Web sites.

Remote Access Information

The databases listed in this Research Guide are available only to Truckee Meadows Community College students, faculty and staff. You will need your TMCC credentials (Username and Password) to access them off-campus.

Reference Books

Reference Books

In order to search for information effectively, it is a good strategy to use reference books to learn basic facts and terminology about a topic.  Here are books in the Reference Collection of the library and online reference books that will provide a good beginning.

Digital Reference Books

 

  • Encyclopedia of Substance Abuse Prevention, Treatment, & Recovery, 2009
    • Coverage includes areas such as:
      • neurobiology of addiction
      • models of addiction
      • socio-cultural perspectives on drug use
      • family and community factors
      • prevention theories and techniques

 

  • The Gale Encyclopedia of Mental Disorders  
    • Provides understandable yet detailed information on mental disorders and conditions. Includes entries for all 150 disorders classified in the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, text revision (DSM-IV-TR).

 

  • Encyclopedia of Multicultural Psychology

This encyclopedia presents a thorough overview of the psychology of racial, ethnic, and minority issues in the United States.