Skip to main content

Research Methods: Databases Giving Two Sides of an Argument

Basic Approach to a Research Project

Databases Providing Background for Controversial Topics

The databases listed in this Research Guide are available only to Truckee Meadows Community College students, faculty and staff. You will need your TMCC credentials (Username and Password) to access them off-campus.

Two databases are particularly useful for comprehensive background information on current, controversial topics such as "gun control" or "bullying," or "gay marriage."   Off campus access requires a login ID and password -- see the librarian for assistance.

***********************************************************************

With a particularly political viewpoint, CQ Researcher is a weekly publication by Congressional Quarterly.  It provides the basic issue, who is for it, who is against it, history, some statistics, and possible solutions to the problem.  It also includes a pro-con debate by people who are knowledgeable about that issue, contacts of interested organizations, references, and help with citations.

Issues and Controversies also is a weekly, extended discussion about a particular, controversial topic.  It tends to have a wider topic coverage than CQ Researcher.  It, too, includes two sides of the arguments, background, history, statistics, and possible solutions.  Links to interested organizations and references are included, along with citation help.

Debate

Opposing Viewpoints Reference Center

Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center is a more comprehensive database than CQ Researcher or Issues and Controversies.  It includes relevant chapters from reference books, opinion pieces from many sources, news articles, magazine articles, articles from refereed journals, statistics, and visual and audio media.  It too provides assistance in citing sources.  Off campus access requires a login ID and password -- see the librarian for assistance.