Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ANTH 101 - Williams: Journal Article Databases

This Research Guide will help you find resources about world cultures and the countries they inhabit.

JSTOR, Anthrosource, eHRAF, EBSCO

These databases can give you additional, detailed information about your chosen culture. You will want to search by culture name and a sub-topic (dinka and economy, dinka and dwelling, for example). This does not always work well in JSTOR, however.

I would recommend searching eHRAF first. The other two databases might be better when searching for information about modern cultures (Mexico, South Korea, etc.).

JSTOR has the best anthropology journal content. eHRAF contains foundational information on cultures. EBSCO has more than 100 anthropology titles, but search the other collections first. Log in to these resources with your TMCC credentials.

  • eHRAF - this is a collection of cultural data from many sources, including encyclopedias, books, journal articles, and conference papers.
  • EBSCO - search Academic Search Premier and/or MasterFILE. EBSCO also has a religion & philosophy collection.
  • JSTOR - try the advanced search so you can limit to anthropology journals only.

Video tutorials on Searching Journal Databases

Searching eHRAF for Cultural Information

******************

Open Access Journal Articles of Interest from Science Direct, a large collection of journals (create an account for journal access)