Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

PSY 101 - Reynolds: Journal Articles

Peer-reviewed or Empirical Articles and Journals

So, what are peer-reviewed or empirical journals and articles?

In the social sciences and other disciplines, professors and other scholars design and conduct experiments and studies to examine and test various ideas (hypotheses), in this case, about psychology, human behavior and human development.

The scholars write articles detailing their studies, their methodology and their results. These papers (kind of like a long term paper) are reviewed by a group of other scholars in the field (their peers) to assess validity of the writer's study and methodology as well as the appropriate use of statistical analysis performed on the data gathered in the study. Thus, they are called peer-reviewed articles.

Once approved, the study is published in a journal, which is what we will find in our databases.

These studies usually follow the APA format and generally have sections including an Introduction, Methods, Results and Discussion.
*************************
Examples of a magazine article and a peer-reviewed article (both about psychological stress):

Notice the difference? Helping Children features pictures and newsy content, while A Pilot Study has a longer title, charts and lots of dense text.

TMCC Databases with Psychology Content

  • APA PsycArticles® - is a definitive source of full text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology.
  • Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection - is a comprehensive database covering information concerning topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology. Features more than 400 full-text journals.
  • Search also the general academic collections Academic Search Premier, Academic Search Main and MainFile collections. They may have additional journals. They are available in the EBSCO Collection.

The video below explains how to find empirical/peer-reviewed articles in our EBSCO psychology databases: