Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Sociology 205: American Ethnicity - Woehr: Home

An Introduction to resources associated with American ethnicity, including Statistical data

Introduction

This LibGuide will provide research information for your Anthro/Sociology 205 course.  The focus of
the content is American ethnic groups and the content should be as current as possible, (within 10
years).  Please bear in mind the COVID pandemic has caused a major socio-economic impact upon
numerous ethnic groups in America and so the data shifts as the pandemic continues.  Much of the
data reported focuses upon the pre-COVID world. 

This LibGuide will systematically introduce you to library database journal articles, research encyclopedia sources, and ebooks.  It will also provide links to government and organizational websites that shall benefit your research assignments.

 APA/MLA links on how to properly cite your research and construct your annotated bibliography and paper are also provided. 

Assignment 1: Harvard Implicit Bias Project IAT Reflection  Essay
 After completing the 3 to 5 of the Harvard Implicit Bias Project & IAT Tests
focusing on race, sexuality, skin tone, ethnicity, gender, disability, religion or age
you will write a 2 to 3-page paper (using APA or MLA style) summarizing the
results of your IAT and research findings focusing on how it has been used in
diversity and inclusion training, the validity of the IAT and/or the controversary
regarding its effectiveness and continued usage.

Assignment 2:
 Submit a Research Topic For Your Final Paper/Project: 
Choose an ethnic group present in the contemporary U.S. long enough and in high
enough numbers that there will be published, peer-reviewed research available for that
group. Use the chapters listed in your book as examples. You can focus on a panethnic
group like Hispanics or Asian-Americans or narrow it down to a national origin group like Puerto Ricans,
Chinese Americans, etc.
 Do some tentative internet searches in academic databases like Google Scholar
(scholar.google.com) and the TMCC library for academic articles to get an idea if there will
be enough published research for you to be able to write your paper. Include a brief
summary of what you have found.
 Compose a paragraph explaining how the group you chose to focus on constitutes a
minority or subordinate group according to the characteristics listed and discussed on
page 5 of Chapter 1 (Schaefer, 2015). 
 Begin to think about how to narrow your focus further to a particular issue pertaining to
that group. List no more than three possibilities, including a brief sentence explaining why
this is of interest to you and anything you already know about the topic.

Assignment 3: Review the Library Research Session online video and LibGuide and write a review
of what you learned in the Discussion Post.

Assignment 4: Annotated Bibliography:
 Submit an Annotated Bibliography with 4 to 6 peer-reviewed academic sources.
 Compile and synthesize research findings about a specific ethnic group.  Include your
research project/paper topic and your current working thesis at the top of your
bibliography.  

Assignment 5: Final Research Project or Paper: 
 Create and present a poster session, slide book or write a research paper (3 to 4 pages) on
the topic you have chosen applying the key concepts pertaining to the study of the chosen ethnic
group.  Your paper or project will need to include:
o Working title and thesis
o Working thesis
o All sections of the project or paper laid out in logical order
o Complete explanation of intended content and arguments for each section
o In-text citations throughout your project or paper, and a References or Works Cited
section with all sources appropriately formatted in either APA or MLA citation style.

Finally, just select your topic and begin to research it in the library databases and:
 Take accurate notes
 Identify important “QUOTES”
 Look for telling analogies
 Note relevant examples
 Organize your paper around your central thesis
 Organize your paragraphs using individual paragraph topic ideas to support your thesis

Elements of a Research project are:
1. Facts, which represent about 75% of the argument
2. Persuasive appeals, which represent no more than 25% of the argument
Primary “Modes of Paragraph/Project Development” (ways to illustrate, explain, prove, or argue):
a. Definitions
b. Examples
c. Narration [stories]
d. Descriptions
e. Comparison and Contrast
f. Facts, Statistics, Authority [experts] testimony
g. Persuasive appeals--“emotional-appealing” language
h. Also, discuss OPPOSING VIEWPOINTS for balanced arguments
If you have any questions in regard to research, feel free to make an appointment with a
librarian. Librarians are available to help you with your research needs. Schedule a time to get
assistance by email or by phone. Librarians will help you search for sources on library databases
and the Internet and provide assistance in citing your sources. Please select a librarian and
schedule a time that works for you!

If you have any questions in regard to research, feel free to make an appointment with a librarian. Librarians are available to help you with your research needs. Schedule a time to get assistance by email or by phone. Librarians will help you search for sources on library databases and the Internet and provide assistance in citing your sources. Please select a librarian and schedule a time that works for you!

Librarian Neil Siegel, the creator of this LibGuide, is available 7 days a week from 9:00 am - 10:00 pm. You can contact him by cell, 775-376-4018, or by email, nsiegel@tmcc.edu.  

 

Librarian

Neil Siegel's picture
Neil Siegel
Contact:
775-376-4018 cell
Subjects:History