Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Eng 102 - The Argumentative Essay: Issues and Controversies

Argumentative Paper

Issues and Controversies

As with the CQ Researcher database, Issues and Controversies provides the Who, What, Where, Why, How, Supporters/Opponents Arguments, Statistical Data, Quotes From Authorities in the Field, and MLA Citations. 

To help students, researchers, and readers understand the critical issues we face today, Issues & Controversies explores and analyzes hundreds of hot topics in politics, business, government, crime, law, energy, education, health, family, science, foreign policy, race, rights, society, and culture. Updated weekly, with a wire-service news feed providing the latest headline stories, Issues & Controversies offers in-depth articles designed to inspire thought-provoking debates and research papers. Since its inception in 1995, Issues & Controversies has been a core student and educator resource for understanding and writing about contemporary events and conflicts, as well as for debate prep.

As with CQ, Issues and Controversies only provides a handful of in-depth articles and a few encyclopedia sources.

Articles for Health Care reform (Single Payer Health System), Public Option, Affordable Care Act, Mandates, Medicare For All, and Medicaid are available to synthesize into your argumentative paper. 

There are 2 Pro/Con articles each on the College Cost/Value debate, Overpopulation, Drone Warfare, and Term Limits

This database provides quotes by leading experts in their field, statistical data to enrich your paper, Pro/Con arguments you may not have thought about and Bibliographies where the references you can hyperlink directly to.

A sample topic example showcasing the strengths of the Issues and Controversies Database:

  • Electoral College: Should the United States continue to use the Electoral College in presidential elections? 

    On November 8, 2016, Republican Donald Trump was elected president despite receiving about 2.9 million fewer votes than his Democratic rival, Hillary Clinton. Indeed, the United...

  • The Electoral College

    More than 100 million Americans are expected to go to the polls on November 5, 1996 and cast a vote for President Clinton (D), Robert J. Dole (R) or another candidate. However...

  • Electoral college

    Best, Judith. The Case Against Direct Election of the President. Cornell, 1975. "A Defense of the Electoral College" (title...

  • Electoral College

    Collective name for the electors who nominally choose the president and vice-president of the U.S. This group comprises the electors from the separate states who are selected by...

  • ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

  • Always opt for the Pro/Con articles for they are the richest in content. On left hand side of the Pro/Con articles you will also find: Supporters Argue and Opponents Argue buttons that provide richer debate than the introductory arguments.  Seven or more arguments made by issue opponents/supporters will lead to your further understanding of the complexity of the issue. Statistics, quotes, and analytical insights are provided equally for both Supporters and Opponents when selecting those buttons.  When you write an argumentative paper not only will you need to support your claim, you will also have to claim why you fail to support the counter argument.

  • The By The Numbers button provides statistics to reinforce your claims. Statistics are vital in supporting your arguments and should not go neglected. The Bibliography at the end of the article connects you to articles used to write the Issues and Controversies article.When you click the Page Tools button at the right/top of the screen, next click Citation to access the MLA citation.

  • "Electoral College: Should the United States continue to use the Electoral College in presidential elections?Issues & Controversies, Infobase, 21 Feb. 2017, https://icof-infobaselearning-com.ezproxy.tmcc.edu/recordurl.aspx?ID=16326. Accessed 31 Mar. 2020.

  • Electoral CollegeShould the United States continue to use the Electoral College in presidential elections? 

  • Introduction

    SUPPORTERS ARGUE

    For more than 200 years, the Electoral College has promoted unity and stability in U.S. presidential elections. The system ensures that all Americans, including those living in less populated areas, maintain a voice in government.

    OPPONENTS ARGUE

    The Electoral College is an undemocratic system that no longer serves as originally intended. The unequal distribution of electoral votes between states discounts millions of votes. The system should be discarded.