Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Education Courses - Micaela Rubalcava: Home

A LibGuide for the following courses: EDU 201, 203, 206, 207 and 208 presenting how to access and use the Professional Development Collection EBSCO database, Citation advice, and a virtual introduction to searching.

Introduction

Dear Elementary Education Student,

This LibGuide is designed to assist you in identifying research journal articles associated with the curricula of Elementary Education. 

The EBSCO Education database, Professional Development Collection, is the definitive source for elementary education research articles.  Over 500 education journals and 200 education reports are accessible. Articles can be read in HTML or PDF formats.  It is recommended you always use the PDF format, for when citing article content PDF provides the actual pagination.

Access to the EBSCO databases is the same login you use for CANVAS or MyTMCC.

ALWAYS use the word AND to connect search terms for AND narrows your search.  You can also use the word Elementary to  your search terms to narrow your search further to elementary education focused articles.  

Example: Learning Communities and Elementary.

EBSCO articles contain Abstracts that are brief and inform you on the most important points within an article. Abstracts save you time and assist in focusing your thesis and assembling the most relevant journal articles. If you have any difficulty in research, selecting a topic, narrowing a topic, or citing, librarians are available by appointment

EBSCO provides APA and MLA citations for Every article .  Copy and paste these citations into your Works Cited page.

Courses:

EDU 201 - Introduction to Elementary Education 

Introduction to historical, philosophical, sociological and psychological foundations of elementary education, overview of curriculum, instruction and issues of diversity. Includes a field experience.   

EDU 203 - Introduction to Special Education 

This course examines various types of exceptionalities. There is an emphasis on etiology, physical and educational characteristics.

EDU 206 - Classroom Learning Environments 

Function and analysis of elementary school classrooms, daily activities and methods of behavior management.

EDU 207 - Exploration of Children's Literature 

Survey of children's literature genres. Censorship, historical background, children's interests, literature programs, and book evaluations. Same as ENG 250.  Enrollment Requirements: Prerequisite: ENG 101 or ENG 113 or instructor approval.

EDU 208 - Students with Diverse Abilities and Backgrounds 

Focus on successful inclusion of students with various disabilities, students from culturally diverse backgrounds, and English language learners in a general education classroom.  Enrollment Requirements: Prerequisite: EDU 203.

 

Librarian

Neil Siegel's picture
Neil Siegel
Contact:
775-376-4018 cell
Subjects:History