These websites and descriptions were featured in a bibliography of online statistical sources published in the January 2010 issue of College and Research Libraries News, a monthly newsmagazine published by the Association of College and Research Libraries (ACRL).
- Administration for Child and Families
An agency within the Department of Human Services, ACF includes policy and planning links to several statistical reports including statistics on adoption/foster care, Head Start programs, and child abuse.
Center for Disease Control - Stillbirth
CDC is the Nation’s leading science-based, data-driven, service organization that protects the public’s health. For more than 70 years, we’ve put science into action to help children stay healthy so they can grow and learn, to help families, businesses and communities fight disease and stay strong, and to protect the public’s health.
- Children's Defense Fund
Provides reports, charts, studies, and more in the topic areas of child poverty, child health, and education. Much of the data retrieved is found in the online report from CDF, “The State of America’s Children.”
Compiled by the Federal Interagency Forum on Child and Family Statistics, this site serves as a portal to data on children and families reported by 22 government agencies. “America’s Children: Key National Indicators of Well-Being” is an annual online publication of the Forum. Users can view the full report or scan through its highlights. In addition to demographic statistics, data are available on emotional and behavioral difficulties, health care, family and social environment, and more.
- Kids Count - The Annie E. Casey Foundation
Providing state legislators, public officials and child advocates with the reliable data, policy recommendations and tools needed to advance sound policies that benefit children and families.
Healthy People provides science-based, 10-year national objectives for improving the health of all Americans
To expand the visibility of timely and relevant Federal HIV policies, programs, and resources to the American public.
- National Center for Health Statistics
This easy-to-use Web site provides simple access to basic mental health statistics. The More Data section includes statistical surveys and publications like Depression in the United States Household Population; access to the mental health trend tables from Health, United States; and more. Data sets are available for downloading and searching.
National Center for Health Statistics - Mortality Data
- National Data Archive on Child Abuse and Neglect
Maintained by Cornell University, data archived on child welfare and maltreatment allows for secondary analysis. Nearly all data sets are free.
National Institute on Drug Abuse
Our mission is to advance science on the causes and consequences of drug use and addiction and to apply that knowledge to improve individual and public health
Sponsored by UNICEF, this site includes basic international statistics on issues such as HIV/AIDS, education levels, and infant mortality. UNICEF’s online publications “The State of the World’s Children” and “Progress for Children” are also available.
United States Census Bureau
Census Bureau statistics are now organized by themes, or topics, making it easier for you to find what you need.
World Health Organization
For research on a particular health topic, begin by looking at the health topics list. Each health topic page provides lists of related sites, links and documents. If you are looking for information on a specific country or a WHO region, visit the corresponding WHO regional office web site. Specific country information can also be accessed via the Countries link on the left-hand navigation bar. The research tools page lists resources that can be used in research. These include statistical databases and the library database.
U.S. Customs and Border Protection
CBP takes a comprehensive approach to border management and control, combining customs, immigration, border security, and agricultural protection into one coordinated and supportive activity.
U.S. Department of Health & Human Services/Administration for Children & Families
The Administration for Children and Families (ACF) is a division of the Department of Health & Human Services. We promote the economic and social well-being of children, families, individuals and communities with leadership and resources for compassionate, effective delivery of human services.
U.S. Department of Health & Human Services/National Institutes of Health
NIH’s mission is to seek fundamental knowledge about the nature and behavior of living systems and the application of that knowledge to enhance health, lengthen life, and reduce illness and disability.