LibGuides: Biology 190 UV Sunscreen Lab: Peer-Reviewed Journal Articles

Magazines and Scholarly (Peer-Reviewed) Journal Articles

The databases listed in this Research Guide are available only to Truckee Meadows Community College students, faculty and staff. You will need your TMCC credentials (Username and Password) to access them off-campus.

Academic Search Premier

"Multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,600 journals."
Health Source - Consumer Edition

Provides "information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health."
Health Source Nursing/Academic Edition

"Provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines."
JSTOR

"An interdisciplinary archive of thousands of journals in the arts, humanities, and social sciences."
MasterFILE Premier

"Multidisciplinary database provides full text for nearly 1,700 periodicals with full-text information dating as far back as 1975." Also has full-text reference books and other materials.
PLOS

PLoS is a non-profit organization of scientists committed to making the world's scientific and medical literature freely accessible to scientists and to the public around the world.
PubMed

Indexes thousands of medical and dental journals. Full-text available for many titles.

Sample Journal Article

Searching the database Academic Search Premier using the search term "sunscreen effectiveness," a number of articles were retrieved. Browse the abstracts to select a useful article. The article below was selected:

Sun protection factor: science or advertising?

The article presents brief information on sunscreen formulation used to protect skin from exposure to ultraviolet (UV) radiation coming from sun. It informs about sunscreen products that contains chemicals known as UV filters that absorb/reflect UV radiations. It further highlights that the effectiveness of marketed sunscreen products is based on sun protection factor (SPF). It also mentions that sunscreens are regulated by the Drug and Cosmetic Act in India.

This EBSCO database also provides citations, although care must be taken to check them against a citation style guide. Here is the APA citation for the article, but it has incorrect capitalization of the authors' names and requires an indentation on the second line:

MUSMADE, P., & LIGADE, V. (2014). Sun protection factor: science or advertising?. Current Science (00113891), 107(10), 1635-1636.