Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

NURS 212 - Cultural Aspects of Nursing Care (Dr. House): Medline Plus

This Research Guide will help you find the resources essential to success in this class.

Medline Plus

MedlinePlus:   https://www.nlm.nih.gov/medlineplus/

At the library home page www.tmcc.edu/library click on Databases.  Scroll down the page. Click  MedlinePlus.  MedlinePlus is a database produced by the National Library of Medicine and the National Institute of Health. MedlinePlus offers the following resources:

Medical Encyclopedia which includes for each disease:

  • Illustrations
  • Definition
  • Causes, Incidence and Risk Factors
  • Symptoms
  • Signs and Tests
  • Treatment
  • Complications
  • Prevention

        A Drug Directory that includes:

  • Why the Medicine is Prescribed

  • How it is to be Used

  • Precautions to Follow

  • Dietary Instructions

  • Side Effects

  • Interactive Tutorials for Procedures which includes:

  • Anatomy of the Disease

  • Diseases Related to the Test

  • Procedure Options

  • Before Procedure Protocol

  • The Procedure Process

  • Procedure Risks

  • After the Procedure Protocol

    Interactive Tutorials for Diseases and Conditions which includes:

  • Disease Anatomy

  • Symptoms and Causes

  • Treatment Options

    Also Available:

    Videos of Surgical Procedures

    Medical Dictionary for spellings and medical definitions.

    News on current health issues