Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Beginning Genealogy using Paper Reference Sources
To start research on your family history you will need to know how/where to search for records. The TMCC Library has many great paper format books on how to do genealogy. Listed below are books in our Reference Section that will help to get you started. As you read through these books you will quickly see that there are many terms unique to this field. Understanding the terminology will be of great benefit to you as you progress in your research. See the links below for free online genealogy glossaries. Your TMCC librarians can help you get started.
Getting Started with Paper Format Reference Books
In order to search for information effectively, it is a good strategy to use reference books to learn basic facts and terminology about a topic. Here are books in the Reference Collection of the library that will provide a good beginning.
Encyclopedia of American Immigration by
Call Number: Ref JV6465 .E53 2001
Publication Date: 2001
This richly illustrated set is the definitive reference on American immigration from both historic and contemporary perspectives. It traces the scope and sweep of U.S. immigration from the earliest colonial settlements to the present.
The Everything Guide to Online Genealogy by
Call Number: Ref CS21.5 .P69 2014
Publication Date: 2014
Know little to nothing on how to start your family history research? This book will give you all the basics.
Family History; a Bibliography of Bibliographies by
Call Number: Ref CS16 .B47
Publication Date: 1971
Compiled by the publisher from the 4th ed. of the author's A world bibliography of bibliographies and of bibliographical catalogues, calendars, abstracts, digests, indexes, and the like.
How to Do Everything Genealogy by
Call Number: Ref CS16 .M69 2012
Publication Date: 2012
In How to Do Everything Genealogy, award-winning researcher and genealogy writer George G. Morgan shows how to start and continue your family history research using traditional records and techniques, as well as the full array of online databases, digitized records, social networks, and other tools. Learn how to organize and create your family tree; find documents about your family; research census documents, military service records, and land and property rolls; plan a successful genealogy research trip; evaluate sources; and other vital skills to help you uncover and illuminate your family's story.
Further Your Research: Visit or Contact the Best Genealogical Libraries in the USA