Skip to main content

Genealogy and Family History: General Magazine Articles

A guide to assist those interested in starting a family history project.

General Magazine Articles

A magazine is a periodical publication containing a collection of articles, stories, pictures, or other features.  It is not considered an academic or scholarly journal.  For example, Family Tree is a magazine.  The Genealogist is a peer-reviewed journal.

Finding Magazine Articles on Genealogy

The EBSCO database MasterFILE Premier contains both magazine articles and peer-reviewed articles from scholarly journals.  Do not place a check mark in the box for "Peer reviewed" articles and you will find a mixture of both types when you enter your search term.

The databases listed in this Research Guide are available only to Truckee Meadows Community College students, faculty and staff. You will need your TMCC credentials (Username and Password) to access them off-campus.

In order to find magazine articles, be sure not to check the "Peer-reviewed" articles box.  If you have any questions, consult a reference librarian.

 

 

 

 

Genealogy

Sample Magazine Article on Genealogy

The search term in EBSCO's MasterFILE Premier database is "genealogy."

In order to avoid academic journal articles, the search is limited to Magazines.

Librarian Suggestions Out of our Online Magazines

I am happy to share with you some of my favorite online magazines that are available though our subscription databases. Here are a few that I hope you will enjoy.

American Ancestors

Available in full text for the years 2008 - 2020 in our Ebsco MasterFile Complete subscription.

Here is a sample of an article:

Preserving Your Family History in the Digital Age: https://ezproxy.tmcc.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=f6h&AN=138303851&site=ehost-live&scope=site

 

Discovering Family History

Available in full text for the years 2009 - 2010 in our Ebsco History Reference Center subscription.

Here is a sample of an article:

I Do! Gleaning Clues from Marriage Records: https://ezproxy.tmcc.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=khh&AN=48805815&site=ehost-live&scope=site

 

Irish Roots Magazine

Available in full text for the years of 2011 - 2017 in our Ebsco Master File Elite subscription.

Here is a sample of an article:

How to Trace Your Irish Ancestors Online: https://ezproxy.tmcc.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=f6h&AN=76919974&site=ehost-live&scope=site

 

New England Ancestors

Available in full text for the years of 2008 - 2020 in our Ebsco MasterFile Complete subscription.

Here is a sample of an article:

Researching Newfoundland Ancestors: https://ezproxy.tmcc.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=f6h&AN=36552791&site=ehost-live&scope=site