Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Articles from library databases can provide you with more current information than books, in many cases. The library has several databases with good coverage of environmental issues, and EBSCO and JSTOR have dozens of peer-reviewed journals. ABI/Inform has excellent coverage on many environmental issues, especially the economic implications of pollution and agricultural production.
The databases listed in this Research Guide are available only to Truckee Meadows Community College students, faculty and staff. You will need your TMCC credentials (Username and Password) to access them off-campus.
Current and Controversial Issues Databases
- CQ Researcher - provides in-depth information about political, economic, environmental and social topics.
- Issues and Controversies - provides background information and opposing viewpoints on controversial issues.
- Opposing Viewpoints - this database provides opposing viewpoints on a wide variety of controversial topics but also includes relevant news, statistical sources, and some peer-reviewed articles.
Databases with Peer-Reviewed Content
- ABI/Inform Global - this database features dozens of journals with environmental coverage. The journals tend to focus on the economic and business-related aspects of environmental science.
- The EBSCO databases have thousands of peer-reviewed journals on a variety of topics.
- JSTOR - Use the Advanced Search option to narrow you search to Ecology and Environmental Science titles. Unfortunately, many of the journals in JSTOR have "embargoes" where the publisher does not offer access to the most current year or two of content.