Skip to main content

Anthro 201 - Wilhelm - Afghanistan Resources: EBSCO Database Articles

Afghanistan

EBSCO Database Articles

The EBSCO databases will contribute greatly to identifying the articles most relevant to your research.  The EBSCO suite of journal databases is located on the Database and Journals library home page under Journals, Magazines and Newspapers.  At the top of the EBSCO search screen click Select All located under the yellow Continue button.  This suite of EBSCO resources includes a political science, health, education, humanities and other databases where key articles may be found.  

Note there is a difference between peer-reviewed and general magazine articles.  Peer-reviewed are scholarly and are reviewed and edited by peers in that field of study. To be published they undergo significant scrutiny for content, argument and research.  You may wish to limit your search exclusively to peer reviewed titles by simply placing a check mark in the Scholarly Peer Reviewed box located on the bottom left side of the screen.  

A basic search using Afghanistan as our sole keyword brings up over 700,000 books and articles.  Our search is way too broad and must be narrowed.  If we add the ethnic group Pashtun to our search we now return over 3,000 articles.  When we add and women to our search the databases retrieve 238 articles. Note that most probably the first 15 articles will be most relevant to our search.  We can also omit the word Pashtun making the search Afghanistan and Women to find results.

Afghanistan 700,000       Afghanistan and Pashtun  3,200       Afghanistan and Pashtun and Women 238   Afghanistan and Women 44,000

We can also select specific database to narrow the search results. 

An example of an excellent article where the author had first hand experience observing and interacting with Afghani women.

Rubin, E. (2010). Veiled Rebellion. National Geographic218(6), 28.

Abstract: The article presents a personal narrative which explores the author's experience of visiting Afghanistan to investigate the social conditions of Pushtun women. A photo essay is presented along with the narrative which documents the social conditions and human rights efforts of Pushtun Afghan women in Afghanistan.

Subjects:
NARRATIVES
PASHTUN women
SOCIAL conditions of women