Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

BUS 106 - Coudriet: Journal Articles

Journal Collections

The library subscribes to two journal databases, ABI/Inform Global and EBSCO.

ABI/Inform is the best database to search for business journals, trade magazines, dissertations, reports and conference papers.

  • Search for the phrase "elevator speech" AND business. About 270 articles are found. Skim the titles to find what you need or click the Preview link at the bottom right of each result entry for an abstract and more details about the article. Click the Full Text link to see HTML or PDF full text options.
    • What's My Line? is a good introduction to elevator speeches from the perspective of the financial services industry.

The EBSCO collection of databases are our broadest journal collections. All fields of study are covered, and there are 4 collections that are automatically selected.  As business students, you also want to be aware of the two business-specific collections - Business Source Elite and Regional Business News.

  • Click this EBSCO link and in addition to the default selections, select the two business collections to begin your search. Use the subjects and keywords listed below to find articles about those topics.
    • For example; try elevator speech AND business as a search phrase.  You'll find more than 100 articles that have something to do with elevator speeches. One great EBSCO example article is Do you have a good elevator speech? Click the PDF Full Text link to read the article.

Subjects and keywords that relate to the material in this class

  • business communication
  • business presentations
  • persuasive business proposals
  • body language (also non verbal communication, posture)
  • elevator speech
  • oral communication
  • vocal delivery
  • business writing
  • interpersonal communication
  • negotiation in business
  • teams in the workplace