Databases of Interest - an Overview - Argumentative Paper Resources - LibGuides at Truckee Meadows Community College

Selected Databases for Finding Sources for Argumentative Essays

Controversial Issues Databases

CQ Researcher
CQ Researcher provides excellent, detailed articles on political and social issues. Experts from opposing sides of the issues are quoted and almost every article features short pro/con essays on the issue at hand.
Global issues in Context
This database covers global controversial issues, such as the European migrant crisis, Antarctic ownership, and the Paris Climate Agreement.
Issues & Controversies
This collection has some good background information on controversial topics. It also features essays arguing the pros and cons of hundreds of controversial issues.
Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center
This collection offer background information and pro/con essays on thousands of contentious issues.

General Periodical Databases

General Periodical/Journal Databases

These databases contain thousands of magazines and journals, while the collections above feature mostly custom content written for the database itself. The collections below have many opinion pieces or editorials as well as articles and original research in peer-reviewed journals. Keep in mind that these are just a few of the databases available. Find a full list at the Databases and Journals page.

Search the library catalog to find journal articles an other materials in a single search.

EBSCO Collection
- Why search this database?
  This set of magazine and journal databases allows you to search broadly for a variety of topics. It's often a good place to start your research
- What’s included?
  The collections vary from the broad collections at the top of the list (Academic Search) to the specialized psychology, political science and other collections further down the list. Ebooks also appear in some searches
- Looking for Articles?
  Thousands of articles available.
Gale Access Collection
- Why search this database?
  This is an alternative to the EBSCO collection, and contains some sources that EBSCO does not.
- What’s included?
  This collection features thousands of journals, magazines and news sources as well as some video content.
- Looking for Articles?
  Millions of articles can be found in Gale.

Argumentative Paper Resources: Databases of Interest - an Overview

Selected Databases for Finding Sources for Argumentative Essays

General Periodical Databases