Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Videos in the Library and Online
Videos in the TMCC Library are available in DVD format (must be viewed in the library or checked out by instructors) or are in VHS format, most of which may be checked out of the library.
The databases listed in this Research Guide are available only to Truckee Meadows Community College students, faculty and staff. You will need your TMCC credentials (Username and Password) to access them off-campus.
Videos in the Library
Here are sample videos in the TMCC Library, found using the Library Catalog.
Call Number: Feature Film PN1997 .F753 2003 DVD
Publication Date: 2002
The life of artist Frida Kahlo, from her humble upbringing to her worldwide fame and controversy that surrounded both her and her husband, Diego Rivera.
Lust for life
Call Number: Feature Film PN1997 .L878 2006 DVD
Publication Date: Originally released as a motion picture in 1956.
Based on the novel by Irving Stone.
Special features: Commentary by film historian Dr. Drew Casper; theatrical trailer.
Kirk Douglas gives a fierce portrayal as the artist Vincent van Gogh, torn between the joyous inspiration of his genius and the dark desperation of his tormented mind.
Videos in the Films on Demand Database
The Films on Demand database provides streaming videos suitable for classroom use. A significant portion of the Films on Demand database collection is in art and history topics. It is easier to browse the collection than to search this small database by keyword.
Films on Demand
- Why search this database?
This is a multi-disciplinary collection of streaming films.
- What’s included?
Over 100 high-quality educational videos. Subjects covered include astronomy, biology, chemistry, history, political science, and religion.
- Looking for Articles?
No articles here. Just streaming video.
Examples of Art History Streaming Videos in Films on Demand
Marcel Duchamp, Iconoclast
This outstanding program presents Marcel Duchamp and his controversial oeuvre. Representative works, culled from every period of his life, bring together sketches, paintings, readymades, kinetic art, optical discs, sculpture, and his posthumous installation, Etant Donnés: 1. La Chute d’Eau 2. Le Gaz d’Eclairage.
Videos in the History in Context Databases
U.S. History in Context and World History in Context may include occasional videos among the reference material, peer-reviewed journals, primary sources, and other materials in these very large databases. Search by topic first, then check to see if any videos are listed in the sources retrieved.