Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
- The Online Catalog
- Search using "Keyword" or "Keyword using and" will search the entire record and is the most general search technique.
- Use terms such as dental, tooth, pulp, gum, etc.
- Use a single word for "Keyword" as a general search
- Use two or more keywords for "Keyword using and" as a more specific search where both ideas must be contained in the results.
- For a more limited search use "subject keyword" or "subject keyword using and".
- Select your databases by reading the descriptions and choosing those best suited to your research. Most of the Health databases are listed in the "Life Sciences Resources" category of the database list. Some of the suggested databases are PubMed and Ovid
- In the Journals, Magazines and Newspapers category of the databases list, both EBSCO and The Gale Access Collection are multiple database collections where you can search more than one database at a time.
- Use the Boolean search techniques discussed earlier to search these databases.
- MedlinePlus is a government maintained consumer health database which is good for basic information and patient education.
- E-books are available in both EBSCO and the E-book Central databases
- Use a basic one keyword search such as dental or dentistry in the basic search box, or use the advanced feature for multiple keyword searches.