Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Where to Begin?
To begin a research project, determine how much information is needed, what type (general background and/or academic research). Write down some search terms, then try them out in general education reference sources such as the reference books described here.
Modify as needed, then search again. Keep track of your search terms, successful and unsuccessful. In most cases, you need to do research to find out enough information to develop a search strategy and to modify it as needed.
In order to search for information effectively, it is a good strategy to use reference books to learn basic facts and terminology about a topic. Here are books in the Reference Collection of the library and online reference books that will provide a good beginning.
The Atlas of Food by
Call Number: Reference TX353 .M55 2008
Publication Date: 2008-10-01
What we eat, where we eat, and how we eat: these questions are explored in this remarkable book. The Atlas of Food provides an up-to-date and visually appealing way of understanding the important issues relating to global food and agriculture. In mapping out broad areas of investigation--contamination of food and water, overnutrition, micronutrient deficiency, processing, farming, and trade--it offers a concise overview of today's food and farming concerns.
Bowes and Church's Food Values of Portions Commonly Used by
Call Number: Reference TX551 .P385 2010
Publication Date: 2009-08-24
This classic guide to nutrition has helped put the "balance" in balanced diets since 1937! Now completely updated for the Nineteenth Edition, this bestseller continues to supply authoritative data on the nutritional value of foods in a form for quick and easy reference. The book's main table reflects the current food supply—listing more than 6,300 common foods—and contains data on the nutritional content of foods, organized by food groups.
Encyclopedia of Human Nutrition by
Call Number: Reference QP141 .E526 2005
Publication Date: 2005-07-27
This Second Edition is a thorough revision and 20% expansion of the 1998 release, reflecting the continuing scientific advances in the field of human nutrition. Now a four-volume set, nearly 300 articles with concise, up-to-date information are complemented by an award-winning indexing system. Included is expanded coverage of epidemiology of diet-related diseases, functional foods, food safety, clinical nutrition and gastrointestinal disorders.
The International Dictionary of Food and Nutrition by
Call Number: Reference TX349 .A236 1993
Publication Date: 1993-06-29
The International Dictionary of Food & Nutrition A London chef has overnight access to Louisiana crayfish. A Nebraska housewife finds the complex spices key to a proper Indian curry in her area supermarket. Big Macs are all the rage in Moscow. In the 1990s, the hallmarks of the Global Village -- advances in telecommunications and transportation -- have made food, dining, and cooking truly international.
Online Reference Databases
Search for encyclopedia articles in these two online reference book databases. Both databases require passwords for off-campus access. See the Reference Librarian for assistance.
Additional Research Resources
These Research Guides provide additional assistance in researching and writing a research paper: