Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Using Reference Books for Preliminary Investigation
Reference Books have their own section of the Library. A typical Reference Book is an encyclopedia, dictionary, or directory. They are composed of short entries perfect for quickly identifying basic information on a topic. Reference Books range from general subject coverage to specific topics. Reference Books are not allowed to leave the library but can be photocopied or scanned. They are clearly marked "Ref" near the call number label.
Here are examples of reference books:
The Oxford English Dictionary by
Call Number: Reference PE1625 .M7 1989
Publication Date: 1989-03-30
20 volumes, on the history of every word in the English language. This is one of the world's great reference books, often referred to simply as the "OED."
Encyclopedia of the Renaissance and the Reformation by
Call Number: Reference CB359 .B47 2004
Publication Date: 2004-03-01
Exploring the period of transition from medieval to modern times, Encyclopedia of the Renaissance and the Reformation, Revised Edition covers all aspects of the European Renaissance and Reformation, from visual arts and architecture to philosophy, religion, and politics. In some 2,100 A-to-Z entries, this comprehensive reference provides detailed information on three centuries that have defined the shape of modern Western civilization. The scope of this encyclopedia is the 14th, 15th, and 16th centuries, during which time the pivotal events of the Renaissance and Reformation occurred, irrevocably changing the future's course. as well as general interest topics such as the role of women, drawing, families, food and cookery, literacy, libraries, and travel. Along with the addition of substantial new material emphasizing the recent findings of cultural historians, the text has been updated and revised throughout, taking into account the newest scholarship. Encyclopedia of the Renaissance and the Reformation, Revised Edition is complete with a new introduction, chronology, and bibliography, as well as a comprehensive index, approximately 100 black-and-white photographs, and an insert of 20 full-color images. An authoritative work for students and professionals alike, the encyclopedia is an accessible reference written with the non-specialist in mind.
The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians by
Call Number: Reference ML100 .N48 2001
Publication Date: 2004-01-29
Since its initial publication in 1980, the The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians has been widely acclaimed as an indispensable resource and a classic reference. The word "updated" doesn't begin to describe the thousands of new articles, topics, cross-references, and areas of scholarship incorporated into the new edition. Every one of the first edition's 22,500 articles has been reviewed and revised, with thousands of articles expanded. Previously neglected or under-represented areas have been examined, explored, and explained. Movements and topics once deemed too controversial or too far from the mainstream have been added. And throughout, 6,500 new articles cover more than 5,000 years of music history, instruments, composers, institutions, performers, genres, and more. The new edition also includes extensive, authoritative contributions on non-Western music, such as Latin American music, to less-examined contributions, such as Asian, sub-Saharan African, and Pacific Islander. 29 volumes.
Larousse Gastronomique by
Call Number: Reference TX349 .L365 2009
Publication Date: 2009-10-13
Larousse Gastronomique has been the foremost resource of culinary knowledge since its initial publication in 1938. Long revered for its encyclopedic entries on everything from cooking techniques, ingredients, and recipes to equipment, food histories, and culinary biographies, it is the one book every professional chef and avid home cook must have on his or her kitchen shelf. In fact, Julia Child once wrote, "If I were allowed only one reference book in my library, Larousse Gastronomique would be it, without question."