Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Federal Government Sources
USA.gov - this gateway searches federal, state and local government sources in a single search. See also their Browse by Topic page for additional resources.
Federal Agencies that Collect Statistics:
- Bureau of Economic Analysis - provides "timely, relevant, and accurate economic accounts data." These include GDP, personal income, and consumer spending numbers.
- Bureau of Labor Statistics - measures "labor market activity, working conditions, and price changes in the economy."
- Bureau of Transportation Statistics - A great "source of statistics on commercial aviation, multi-modal freight, and transportation economics."
- Census Bureau - a gold mine of domestic and international data, reporting everything from national and world population to economics, health, income and poverty. The Census Bureau used to publish the Statistical Abstract, a compendium of federal data presented in tables.
- Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
- Consumer Product Safety Commission - gathers data on injuries caused by products and issues recalls for dangerous products.
- Crime and Criminal Justice
- Department of Agriculture - provides support for farmers, collects all sorts of agriculture statistics and administers some food assistance programs.
- Department of Education
- Department of Energy
- Department of Health & Human Services - this agency administers a vast number of programs covering public health, child care and more.
- Department of Homeland Security - this huge umbrella agency oversees aviation and border security, disaster response and more.
- Energy Information Administration - provides statistics on all types of energy sources.
- Environmental Protection Agency
- Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation
- Federal Highway Administration
- Federal Housing Finance Agency - provides data on the national mortgage market.
- Federal Interagency Forum on Child and Family Statistics - publishes data on child well-being and the status of families.
- Federal Reserve Board - provides data on bank assets and liabilities, bank structure and household finance.
- National Center for Education Statistics
- National Highway Traffic Safety Administration - provides traffic and vehicle safety data as well as recall information.
- Statistical Abstract of the United States - a TMCC subscription database that provides statistics on everything from population to business to health and education. Includes lots of business and economic data. (Must have TMCC credentials to access).
- USA.gov - a gateway to federal and state information and resources.
- USASpending.gov - a searchable database with information on how federal tax dollars and allocated and spent.
Think Tanks and Private Organizations
Many of these groups use federal and international statistics to produce reports on a variety of topics.
- American Enterprise Institute - this conservative organization "seeks to defend the principles and improve the institutions of American freedom and democratic capitalism” through “limited government, private enterprise, individual liberty and responsibility, vigilant and effective defense and foreign policies, political accountability, and open debate.”
- Belfer Center for Science and International Affairs - publishes reports on national security, science and technology, environmental policy and diplomacy.
- Brookings Institution - "conducts research and education in a number of social sciences, including economics, metropolitan policy, governance, foreign policy, and global economy and development."
- Cato Institute - a libertarian-leaning think tank with a mission to “to broaden the parameters of public policy debate to allow consideration of the traditional American principles of limited government, individual liberty, free markets, and peace.”
- Center for American Progress - this liberal-leaning group issues reports on many public policy topics.
- Council on Foreign Relations - conducts research on foreign policy matters and issues concerning globalization.
- Earth Institute - the goals of the Earth Institute at Columbia University are to "advance the basic understanding of earth science" and to "apply that knowledge to decisions made by governments and businesses around the world."
- Heritage Foundation - a conservative think tank that produces opinion pieces and reports promoting conservative issues in politics.
- Human Rights Watch - conducts research about human rights issues and actively promotes human rights around the world.
- National Bureau of Economic Research - "a private, non-profit, non-partisan organization" that produces economic reports on commodities, energy, inequality and taxation, among other areas.
- RAND Corporation - publishes reports on a wide variety of issues of interest to the U.S. government and policy makers.
- Urban Institute - founded by the Lyndon Johnson administration, this liberal group conducts research on urban problems, from housing to crime.
- USAFacts - an amazing data-rich site created by Steve Balmer of Microsoft and others designed to illustrate where federal tax funds come from and where they go - an annual report for government modeled on the annual reports that public companies produce.