LibGuides: Cultural Geography: Introduction

Books and Atlases of Interest (in the Library)

Atlas of Global Development by World Bank Group Staff
Call Number: REF G1046 .G1 A85 2009
ISBN: 9780821376034
Publication Date: 2009-02-06
Thematic maps displaying income, education, health and economic data around the world. Also available online - check catalog for details.
The Atlas of the Real World by Daniel Dorling; Mark Newman; Anna Barford
Call Number: REF G 1021 .D588 2008
ISBN: 9780500514252
Publication Date: 2008-10-27
This book contains digitally modified maps called cartograms, which display information by demographic importance. Maps include population, food, travel, economic data and war and crime statistics.
The Atlas of World Hunger by Thomas J. Bassett; Alex Winter-Nelson
Call Number: REF G 1046 .E59 B38 2010
ISBN: 0226039072
Publication Date: 2010-05-15
Coverage of all aspects of hunger, from food availability and poverty data to coverage of the various causes of hunger around the world.
The Dictionary of Human Geography by R. J. Johnston (Editor); Derek Gregory (Editor); David M. Smith (Editor)
Call Number: Ref GF 4 .D52 1994
ISBN: 0631181423
Publication Date: 1993-12-15
The Handy Geography Answer Book by Matthew T. Rosenberg
Call Number: REF G 131 .R68 1999
ISBN: 1578590620
Publication Date: 1998-10-01
Hundreds of geographic trivia answers, such as What is a Compass Rose?, How are Waves Created?, and Where is the Bible Belt?
World Geography by Ray Sumner (Editor); R. Kent Rasmussen (Editorial Coordinator); Dawn P. Dawson (Editor-In-Chief); Salem Press Staff
Call Number: REF G 133 .W88 2001
ISBN: 0893560243
Publication Date: 2005-06-01
This set includes coverage of the human and economic geography of the worlds nations and regions.

eBooks of Interest

CIA World Factbook - "The Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, energy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities."

Encyclopedia of Geography by Barney L. Warf (Editor)
Call Number: EBSCO eBook
ISBN: 9781412956970
Publication Date: 2010-09-16
The Atlas of World Hunger by Thomas J. Bassett; Alex Winter-Nelson
ISBN: 9780226039077
Publication Date: 2010-05-15
EBSCO eBook. Coverage of all aspects of hunger, from food availability and poverty data to coverage of the various causes of hunger around the world.
Atlas of the Gulf States by Philippe Cadène; Brigitte Dumortier
ISBN: 9789004245600
Publication Date: 2013-04-19
EBSCO eBook. "Offers a survey of the contemporary history and recent economic and urban development of the Gulf region. It contains more than 150 maps and graphs."

Reference Librarian

Maggie Eirenschmalz

Email Me

Contact:

Dandini Campus
Elizabeth Sturm Library/
Learning Commons
LIB 114

775-673-7011