Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Finding Information in the Library for Biology 190 UV Sunscreen Laboratory
The Library provides information in book, periodical, e-book, and online article formats. Following the suggestions in this Research Guide should help toward successful completion of the assignment.
Also see the following Research Guides:
How to Write a Research Paper
For book-length works click on Library Holdings.
Hard copy books require no password in order to view the record. At the end of the Search line “within” pull-down menu, Keyword is the default setting. Type ‘sunscreen.’ One relevant hard copy book and multiple ebooks are retrieved.
Online Reference Books
The online reference book collection Gale Virtual Reference Library contains relevant entries. Search for both ‘sunscreen’ and ‘ultraviolet’ separately or search both terms together with the word and between them, e.g.: ‘sunscreen and ultraviolet’ or ‘ultraviolet and health.’
The databases listed in this Research Guide are available only to Truckee Meadows Community College students, faculty and staff. You will need your TMCC credentials (Username and Password) to access them off-campus.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
- Why search this database?
This collection gives you access to online versions of more than 24 specialized multi-volume encyclopedias with short articles about a broad variety of topics.
- What’s included?
A collection of specialized encyclopedias covering the arts, education, environmental science, medicine and psychology and the social sciences.
- Looking for Articles?
No peer-reviewed articles in this collection.
Here is one of the chapters in a reference book retrieved by the search:
A chapter in a reference book, "Chemical Compounds."
Zinc oxide (ZINC OX-side) is a white to gray to yellowish powder with no odor but a bitter taste. It occurs in nature as the mineral zincite. Zinc oxide is perhaps best known as an ingredient in cosmetics, personal care products, medicines, and sunscreens. In terms of volume, however, a number of industrial applications are of greater importance.
Subjects: Advanced Medical Imaging (AMI)
, Allied Health
, Astronomy (AST)
, College Transition Math (CTM)
, Communications (COM)
, Community Health Sciences (CHS)
, Dental Sciences
, Early Childhood Education (ECE)
, Geology (GEOL)
, Math (MATH)
, Medical Imaging
, Nursing (NURS)
, Nutrition (NUTR)
, Philosophy (PHIL)
, Research Methods
, Study Skills
, Veterinary Technologies