Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Reference Books are located behind the Reference Desk. The Reference Collection consists of encyclopedias, directories, handbooks, and other types of references designed for brief look-up and photocopying or scanning. They cannot leave the library. Look them up in the Library Catalog, with the "Limit to" set to Reference.
Examples of Reference Books
Encyclopedia of Earthquakes and Volcanoes by
Call Number: QE521 .R58 1994
Publication Date: 1994-02-01
Few events in nature are as awe-inspiring and destructive as a powerful earthquake or a massive volcanic eruption. Encyclopedia of Earthquakes and Volcanoes explains the specific terms and concepts associated with the sciences of catastrophe -- seismology and volcanology -- and covers the places in the world where these destructive phenomena have occurred. Completely revised and updated, this concise A-to-Z resource covers various regions of the world and their seismic and/or volcanic activities, specific major eruptions and earthquakes throughout history, geologic or scientific terms, and people who have influenced these fields of science.
The Encyclopedia of Weather and Climate Change by
Call Number: QC854 .F79 2010
Publication Date: 2010-03-08
This beautiful, comprehensive, and up-to-date volume covers in amazing depth all aspects of the world's weather. Liberally illustrated with more than 2,000 color photographs, supplemental maps, diagrams, and other images, The Encyclopedia of Weather and Climate Change takes the reader beyond simple definitions to explore where weather comes from and the roles played by oceans and water cycles, and explains such related phenomena as the shaping of landforms, the creation of biological provinces, and the lasting ramifications of climate change. It also discusses how humans have survived and adapted in extreme climates like deserts, jungles, and icy regions.
Nevada Collection Books on Natural Disasters