LibGuides: History of Nevada: Videos

Videos in the Library and Online

Videos in the TMCC Library are available in DVD format (must be viewed in the library or checked out by instructors) or are in VHS format, most of which may be checked out of the library. In order to locate videos (DVDs and VHS), it is most effective to search the Library Catalog by Keyword using AND and use the Limit menu set to Video.

All DVDs and some VHS are on Reserve at the Circulation Desk, available for Library use only. Some are on Reserve for specific classes, others in general AV Reserve. Ask the Librarian for assistance. Videos in VHS format are shelved near the computers and may leave the library.

Passwords

The databases listed in this Research Guide are available only to Truckee Meadows Community College students, faculty and staff. You will need your TMCC credentials (Username and Password) to access them off-campus.

Streaming videos are available on the Films on Demand database. A password is required for off campus use. The website will prompt the user toi set up an account..

The two History in Context databases include some videos but must be searched by topic. Both require a password for off-campus access.

Videos in the TMCC Library

Here is a sample search of videos in the TMCC Library, using the Library Catalog. The search, in Keyword using AND, was "history renaissance" limited to Videos, and sorted by Publication Date Descending, to see the newest videos first.

Library Catalog

SampleVideo Located in the Search

Las Vegas
Call Number: AV Reserves - Behind Circulation Desk F849 .L35 L37 2005 DVD
ISBN: 9781415712313
Publication Date: 2005
Trace the city's development from its humble beginnings as a remote frontier way station to its mid-century florescence as the gangster metropolis known as 'Sin City' to its recent renaissance as the fastest growing city in the United States.

Videos in the Films on Demand Database

A significant portion of the Films on Demand database collection is in history topics. It is easier to browse the collection than to search this small database by keyword.

Films on Demand
- Why search this database?
  This is a multi-disciplinary collection of streaming films.
- What’s included?
  Over 100 high-quality educational videos. Subjects covered include astronomy, biology, chemistry, history, political science, and religion.
- Looking for Articles?
  No articles here. Just streaming video.

Examples of History Streaming Videos in Films on Demand

Out West: Beyond the Myth
Outside the boundaries of America’s collective folk imagination and underlying the sweeping narrative of U.S. history lies the lived experience of the nation’s westward pioneers. Without exaggeration or embellishment, this captivating documentary focuses on the lives of the common people who headed West between the early 1860s and the turn of the 20th century. Accounts of personal challenges and hardships, interwoven with larger stories of progress and warfare, create a vivid narrative that presents the expansion of America through the eyes of those who won the West at the expense of the land’s indigenous peoples. (57 minutes)
Gold Mountain Dreams
In the 1840s, civil war and famine in southern China drove thousands of young men to seek their fortune in the California Gold Rush. This program traces the Chinese experience in America, from their welcome in San Francisco as “celestial men of commerce,” through the Gold Rush and building of the Transcontinental Railroad, to the 1882 Chinese Exclusion Act banning their entry into this country. This program rediscovers the often-overlooked role of the Chinese and tells their stories through the lives of individuals using photos, artifacts, and interviews with descendants and historians. (89 minutes)

Videos in the History in the U.S. Context Database

U.S. History in Context and World History in Context may include occasional videos among the reference material, peer-reviewed journals, primary sources, and other materials in these very large databases. Search by topic first, then check to see if any videos are listed in the sources retrieved.

U.S. History in Context
- Why search this database?
  A good source for background information on historical events in the U.S.
- What’s included?
  Short but well-written articles on major events and people from U.S.. history.
- Looking for Articles?
  No journals articles here.

Samples of Videos from the U.S. History in Context Database

Politics: In Nevada, A Battle for Every Vote

Will the tea party wave swamp Harry Reid's organization? The answer lies in the hard-hit suburbs of Las Vegas.

History of Nevada: Videos