Skip to main content

EPY 101 - Educational, Career, and Personal Development: Career Research Resources

Search Strategies

How do you find books and eBooks about careers and job searches?  Use the tips below to get started:

  • Use broad terms, such as "job search," resume, "job hunting," or careers.
  • Combine the search term career with a job category, such as sports, or hospitality to find information related to a specific career field.

Also, visit the TMCC Career Center to learn about the services and workshops they offer to get you ready for the world of work.

Resources

Determining a career is not as easy as one thinks. There are various stages one must achieve before accomplishing career objectives.  As such, TMCC Career Counselors, Librarians, and Faculty can assist you with realizing the steps required to capture your occupational goals. In addition, when writing a resume or cover letter the 0*Net database will provide you with the A - Z essence for what the profession entails and you will impress your Human Resources and Hiring Committee panel with your knowledge of the occupation and its task requirements. It is also advisable to research the companies you are applying to prior to the interview to have an idea on their mission, goals, who the key players are, and who the company serves and how.  Writing a cover letter/resume should always embrace to the best of your ability the essence of the job. It helps the reader determine how suitable a fit you are.

An example of key task assignments for the Nursing profession from 0*Net are:

Summary Report for:
29-1141.00 - Registered Nurses

Assess patient health problems and needs, develop and implement nursing care plans, and maintain medical records. Administer nursing care to ill, injured, convalescent, or disabled patients. May advise patients on health maintenance and disease prevention or provide case management. Licensing or registration required.

Sample of reported job titles: Charge Nurse, Director of Nursing (DON), Emergency Department RN (Emergency Department Registered Nurse), Oncology RN (Oncology Registered Nurse), Operating Room Registered Nurse (OR RN), Public Health Nurse (PHN), Registered Nurse (RN), School Nurse, Staff Nurse, Staff RN (Staff Registered Nurse)

Also see: Acute Care NursesAdvanced Practice Psychiatric NursesCritical Care NursesClinical Nurse Specialists

View report: Summary  Details  Custom

Tasks  |  Technology Skills  |  Tools Used  |  Knowledge  |  Skills  |  Abilities  |  Work Activities  |  Detailed Work Activities  |  Work Context  |  Job Zone  |  Education  |  Credentials  |  Interests  |  Work Styles  |  Work Values  |  Related Occupations  |  Wages & Employment  |  Job Openings  |  Additional Information

Tasks

Show all 5 of 28 displayed
  • Maintain accurate, detailed reports and records.See more occupations related to this task.
  • Administer medications to patients and monitor patients for reactions or side effects.See more occupations related to this task.
  • Record patients' medical information and vital signs.See more occupations related to this task.
  • Monitor, record, and report symptoms or changes in patients' conditions.See more occupations related to this task.
  • Consult and coordinate with healthcare team members to assess, plan, implement, or evaluate patient care plans.See more occupations related to this task.

back to top

Technology Skills

Show all 5 of 15 displayed     Show 145 tools used
  • Data base user interface and query software — Data entry software Hot technology ; FileMaker Pro; Microsoft Access Hot technologySee more occupations related to this technology.
  • Electronic mail software — IBM Notes Hot technology ; Microsoft Outlook Hot technologySee more occupations related to this technology.
  • Human resources software — Human resource management software HRMS; Oracle Taleo Hot technologySee more occupations related to this technology.
  • Medical software — Epic Systems Hot technology ; Healthcare common procedure coding system HCPCS Hot technology ; Medical condition coding software Hot technology ; MEDITECH software Hot technologySee more occupations related to this technology.
  • Project management software — Microsoft Project Hot technology ; Microsoft SharePoint Hot technologySee more occupations related to this technology.

Hot technology Hot Technology — a technology requirement frequently included in employer job postings.

back to top

Knowledge

Show all 5 of 10 displayed
  • Medicine and Dentistry — Knowledge of the information and techniques needed to diagnose and treat human injuries, diseases, and deformities. This includes symptoms, treatment alternatives, drug properties and interactions, and preventive health-care measures.See more occupations related to this knowledge.
  • Customer and Personal Service — Knowledge of principles and processes for providing customer and personal services. This includes customer needs assessment, meeting quality standards for services, and evaluation of customer satisfaction.See more occupations related to this knowledge.
  • Psychology — Knowledge of human behavior and performance; individual differences in ability, personality, and interests; learning and motivation; psychological research methods; and the assessment and treatment of behavioral and affective disorders.See more occupations related to this knowledge.
  • English Language — Knowledge of the structure and content of the English language including the meaning and spelling of words, rules of composition, and grammar.See more occupations related to this knowledge.
  • Education and Training — Knowledge of principles and methods for curriculum and training design, teaching and instruction for individuals and groups, and the measurement of training effects.See more occupations related to this knowledge.

back to top

Skills

Show all 5 of 16 displayed
  • Active Listening — Giving full attention to what other people are saying, taking time to understand the points being made, asking questions as appropriate, and not interrupting at inappropriate times.See more occupations related to this skill.
  • Social Perceptiveness — Being aware of others' reactions and understanding why they react as they do.See more occupations related to this skill.
  • Service Orientation — Actively looking for ways to help people.See more occupations related to this skill.
  • Speaking — Talking to others to convey information effectively.See more occupations related to this skill.
  • Coordination — Adjusting actions in relation to others' actions.See more occupations related to this skill.

back to top

Abilities

Show all 5 of 24 displayed
  • Oral Comprehension — The ability to listen to and understand information and ideas presented through spoken words and sentences.See more occupations related to this ability.
  • Oral Expression — The ability to communicate information and ideas in speaking so others will understand.See more occupations related to this ability.
  • Problem Sensitivity — The ability to tell when something is wrong or is likely to go wrong. It does not involve solving the problem, only recognizing there is a problem.See more occupations related to this ability.
  • Deductive Reasoning — The ability to apply general rules to specific problems to produce answers that make sense.See more occupations related to this ability.
  • Inductive Reasoning — The ability to combine pieces of information to form general rules or conclusions (includes finding a relationship among seemingly unrelated events).See more occupations related to this ability.

back to top

Work Activities

Show all 5 of 33 displayed
  • Assisting and Caring for Others — Providing personal assistance, medical attention, emotional support, or other personal care to others such as coworkers, customers, or patients.See more occupations related to this activity.
  • Documenting/Recording Information — Entering, transcribing, recording, storing, or maintaining information in written or electronic/magnetic form.See more occupations related to this activity.
  • Getting Information — Observing, receiving, and otherwise obtaining information from all relevant sources.See more occupations related to this activity.
  • Making Decisions and Solving Problems — Analyzing information and evaluating results to choose the best solution and solve problems.See more occupations related to this activity.
  • Updating and Using Relevant Knowledge — Keeping up-to-date technically and applying new knowledge to your job.See more occupations related to this activity.

Internet-based Resources

Use the Websites below to research various career options:

  • Nevada Career Information System (NCIS) - Nevada's "comprehensive career guidance system." Use it to research career and workforce information.
  • Occupational Outlook Handbook - a Website where you can research careers, browse careers by job category, search by salary or job outlook. The Occupational Outlook Handbook provides a brief narrative where as 0 Net provides more expansive details on tasks.
  • O*NET - Use this online tool to search careers, determine workforce demand, salary, required college degrees, and serve as a vocabulary tool for writing the perfect resume/cover letter through the vocabulary/requirements/tasks/technology associated with that occupation.