Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
In order to search for information effectively, it is a good strategy to use reference books to learn basic facts and terminology about a topic. Here are books in the Reference Collection of the library and online reference books that will provide a good beginning.
Elementary Education by
Call Number: LB1555 .H297 2005
Publication Date: 2005-05-23
Elementary Education: A Reference Handbook" takes readers on an all-inclusive journey through the history and current status of elementary education in America. The handbook first examines the historical, philosophical, social, and cultural foundations of elementary education. It then delves into the fascinating topic of how children learn, including racial identity formation, culturally differing cognitive thinking styles, and language developments.
A critical investigation of issues relating to the curriculum reveals its purpose, types, and models, weighing the impact of technology and providing a historical review of key subjects, from language arts to physical education. Are the results of standardized testing and high-stakes testing realistic and fair? This handbook explores these and other key questions in a detailed discussion of assessment and evaluation methods.
The Encyclopedia of Learning Disabilities by
Call Number: LC4704.5 .T86 2006
Publication Date: 2006-05-01
A complete reference to all types of learning disabilities—their symptoms, causes, and treatments.
Call Number: LB15 .R285 2007
Publication Date: 2007-07-01
Have you ever heard of Suggestopedia? Do you know what a gallery walk is? How about the difference between a stem and a foil? . Education, like most professions, has its own unique vocabulary that is often unfamiliar to outsiders. But unlike those of other professions, the language of education must be clear and intelligible to all.
History of Education in America by
Call Number: LA205 .P84 1999
Publication Date: 1998-06-19
This popular book provides a comprehensive overview of the history of American education and serves as a quick reference of the most important persons, dates, events, and movements that shaped the nation's system of education.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
The databases listed in this Research Guide are available only to Truckee Meadows Community College students, faculty and staff. You will need your TMCC credentials (Username and Password) to access them off-campus.
These electronic reference books are not included in the Library Catalog.
Encyclopedia of Education
Offers a complete view of the institutions, people, processes, roles, and philosophies in educational practice in the United States and throughout the world. Features biographies of influential educators; profiles of historic colleges and universities and of organizations active in the field; and an appendix of full text source documents, including education related legislation, international treaties, and testing methods. 8 volumes
Encyclopedia of School Psychology
The Encyclopedia of School Psychology is the first comprehensive guide to this field, featuring the latest research on school learning, motivation, and educational assessment. Approximately 250 entries by 175 contributing authors from psychology, education and counseling, child development, and special education address student success, behavior disorders, intelligence testing, learning disabilities, strategies to improve academic skills, and more. 2005.
Recommended Resource Links
- CommonLit - Common Lit provides quality literary resources for grades 3-12. Educators can find lexile levels and paired texts around common themes, genres and other instructional materials. This site also includes guided discussion questions and assessments.
- Common Core Standards- "The Common Core Standards are educational standards for English language arts (ELA) literacy and mathematics in grades K-12."
- Project Tahoe- Social Studies curriculum resources which meet Common Core Standards and NVACS. Site includes lessons created by Northern Nevada teachers with an emphasis on controversial issues, Zoom In's, close reading and document-based questions.
- ReadWriteThink- "Providing educators and students access to the highest quality practices and resources in reading and language arts instruction"