Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
General Magazine Articles
A magazine is a periodical publication containing a collection of articles, stories, pictures, or other features. It is not considered an academic or scholarly journal. For example, Maclean's is a magazine. Music Educators Journal is a peer-reviewed journal.
Finding Magazine Articles on Education
The EBSCO database MasterFILE Premier contains both magazine articles and peer-reviewed articles from scholarly journals. Do not place a check mark in the box for "Peer reviewed" articles and you will find a mixture of both types when you enter your search term.
The databases listed in this Research Guide are available only to Truckee Meadows Community College students, faculty and staff. You will need your TMCC credentials (Username and Password) to access them off-campus.
- Why search this database?
Search here to find articles on a variety of topics.
- What’s included?
Full-text articles for more than 1,700 journals and magazines.
- Looking for Articles?
Lots of full-text articles available.
In order to find magazine articles, be sure not to check the "Peer-reviewed" articles box. If you have any questions, consult a reference librarian.
Sample Magazine Article in Education
The search term in EBSCO's MasterFILE Premier database is "bullying."
In order to avoid academic journal articles, the search is limited to Magazines.
IS IT BULLYING OR DRAMA?
by WALKER, MELISSA. in Scholastic Choices. Sep2013, Vol. 29 Issue 1, p8-11. 4p.
Acting like a jerk is one thing, being cruel is another. Knowing the difference matters
a repeated pattern of harmful or rejecting behavior that occurs over a period of time, leaving you feeling excluded, isolated, or humiliated on a large scale. Your life feels seriously interrupted, and you can't see an end in sight.
the everyday difficulties that all teenagers experience, including relationship rifts with friends or people you're dating, onetime instances of classmates being jerks and conflicts that eventually blow over. People involved aren't victims or perpetrators -- they're just part of the social world where mean things sometimes happen.