Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Use Reference Books for Basic Information
Reference Books have their own section of the Library. A typical reference book in literature is composed of short entries perfect for quickly identifying basic information on a topic. Reference Books range from general author biographies to compilations of literary criticism. Reference Books are not allowed to leave the library but can be photocopied or scanned. They are clearly marked "Ref" near the call number label.
Here are examples of reference books:
Contemporary Literary Criticism
The set of 158 volumes of consists of compilations of criticism on individual works of literature. An index leads to the volumes and pages related to a given piece of literature.
Contemporary Lierary Criticism
Call Number: PN771 .C59
Publication Date: Annual, since 1973
In 155 volumes, provides an extensive collection of critical essays on contemporary writers. Each entry also contains a biographical/critical introduction including pseudonyms and nationality, a listing of principal works, and sources for further study.
Classic Poetry Anthologies
Some anthologies try to collect the most important poems by the most significant authors. Some of these books are kept in the Reference collection where the poems are readily available for photocopying.
The Oxford Book of American Poetry by
Call Number: PS583 .O82 2006
Publication Date: 2006-04-03
Here is the eagerly awaited new edition of The Oxford Book of American Poetry brought completely up to date and dramatically expanded by poet David Lehman. It is a rich, capacious volume, featuring the work of more than 200 poets-almost three times as many as the 1976 edition. With a succinct and often witty head note introducing each author, it is certain to become the definitive anthology of American poetry for our time. Lehman has gathered together all the works one would expect to find in a landmark collection of American poetry, from Whitman's Crossing Brooklyn Ferry to Stevens's The Idea of Order at Key West, and from Eliot's The Waste Land to Ashbery's Self-Portrait in a Convex Mirror.
Examples of Reference Books
Reference books on literature range from descriptions of genres such as poetry or fantasy literature to books on individual authors or compilations of criticism on many authors or individual works.
The Captive Imagination by
Call Number: PS1744.G57 Y453 1992 copy 2
Publication Date: 1993-01-01
A century of critical discussion about Charlotte Perkins Gilman's classic, "The Yellow Wallpaper," is combined with excerpts from Gilman's autobiography and interpretations of the story's imagery, plot, and psychological significance
The Encyclopedia of Science Fiction by
Call Number: PN3433.4 .E53 1995
Publication Date: 1995-10-01
This new edition has taken years to prepare and is much more than a simple updating. The world of science fiction in the 1990s is much more complex than it was back in the late 1970s. The advent of game worlds, shared worlds, graphic novels, film and tv spin-offs, technothrillers, survivalist fiction, of horror novels and fantasy novels with of centres has necessitated a radical revision, and this has allowed the inclusion of related subjects, such as magic realism. Accordingly, the book has expanded dramatically in order to cope with the complexities and changes. It now contains well over 4,300 entries - a staggering 1,500 more than the original - and, at 1.2 million words, it is over half a million words longer than the first edition. This is the indispensable reference work not only for every reader who loves, uses and wishes to know more about science fiction, but for every reader of imaginative fiction at the end of this century.
A Dictionary of Literary and Thematic Terms by
Call Number: PN44.5 .Q56 1999
Publication Date: 1999-10-01
In clear, succinct, non-technical language, this new dictionary of more than 850 literary terms and themes takes an expanded view of the term "literary." It is the first book of its kind to give students and general readers not only a traditional literary vocabulary but also the knowledge of related theoretical, historical, and cultural terms they need in the interdisciplinary world of contemporary literary studies.