Logistics and Supply Chain Management: Class-Specific Resources

The resources listed below will provide you with international logistics sources.

Electronic Books in library eBook Collections:

• Advances in Maritime Logistics and Supply Chain Systems (2011)
• Deadly Life of Logistics: Mapping Violence of Global Trade (2014)
• International Logistics (2002; Donald F. Wood, same as library book below)
• International Logistics and Supply Chain Outsourcing : From Local to Global (2007)
• Maritime Logistics: Contemporary Issues (2012)

Refer to the Database Resources page for journal access. You will want to construct a search in ABI/Inform and EBSCO using specific phrases, for example:

• transportation management AND logistics
• 3PL AND water transportation
• intermodal AND logistics
• global sourcing AND logistics

Relevant Library Book:

Electronic Books in library eBook Collections:

• Best Practices in Lean Six Sigma Process Improvement
• Essentials of Lean Six Sigma
• Lean Six Sigma Logistics
• Look Forward Beyond Lean and Six Sigma: a Self-Perpetuating Enterprise Improvement Model (Chapter 5, especially)
• Reinventing Lean: Introducing Lean Management into the Supply Chain
• Supply Chain Excellence: a Handbook for Dramatic Improvement Using the SCORE Model
• Ultimate Six Sigma: Beyond Quality Excellence to Total Business Excellence
• Wiley Guide to Project Technology, Supply Chain, and Procurement Management

Refer to the Database Resources page for journal access. You will want to build a search in ABI/Inform and EBSCO using specific phrases, for example:

• six sigma AND "supply chains"
• quality management AND procurement

Related Library Book:

Electronic Books in Library eBook Collections:

• City As a Terminal : The Urban Context of Logistics and Freight Transport
• City Logistics : Network Modelling and Intelligent Transport Systems
• Lowe's Transport Manager's and Operator's Handbook
• Moving Boxes by Air : The Economics of International Air Cargo
• Shipping Point : The Rise of China and the Future of Retail Supply Chain Management
• Transport and Sustainability : Sustainable Logistics

Refer to the Database Resources page for journal access. You will want to construct a search in ABI/Inform and EBSCO using specific phrases, for example:

• shipping containers AND stacking models
• marine insurance AND rates

Web Sites of Interest

• Department of Homeland Security
  • Coast Guard
• Department of Transportation
  • Federal Railroad Administration
  • National Highway Traffic Safety Administration
  • Public Transit
  • Railroads
• Federal Aviation Administration
• Transportation Research Board - "promotes innovation and progress in transportation through research." This group has an amazing variety of reports and studies on all modes of transportation.  Numerous links to relevant agencies are also included.

Listed below are some library resources related to logistics security.

Electronic Books about Supply Chain Security and Risk Management:

• Handbook for Supply Chain Risk Management (2010) - includes case studies and emerging trends.
• Logistics Information Management : Special Issue On Internet Security (2002) - Features articles from the journal Logistics Information Management (now the Journal of Enterprise Information Management in ABI/Inform).
• Securing Transportation Systems (2015)
• Short Guide to Procurement Risk (2010)
• Supply Chain Risk Management: Vulnerability and Resilience in Logistics (2011).
• Supply Chain Risk: Understanding Emerging Threats to Global Supply Chains (2014)

Database Resources

• ABI/Inform Global - the premier database for business journals and trade magazines. Includes the Journal of Transportation Security.
• EBSCO databases - this collection features thousands of business and law journals.
• HSDL - the Homeland Security Digital Library - a great open-source collection of documents related to homeland security policy, border and transport node protection.

Sample Searches

• air AND cargo AND "advanced screening"
• container AND screening

Web Sites of Interest

• Department of Homeland Security
  • Border Security Publications
  • Critical Infrastructure Security
  • C-TPT : Customs-Trade Partnership Against Terrorism (a U.S. Customs/private partnership aiming to strengthen international supply chain security).
  • Strategy to Enhance International Supply Chain Security (2007)
  • Transportation Security
• Department of Transportation - see the About DOT section for various agencies such as aviation, maritime, and trucking.

• Onpallet - a website that calculates and optimizes pallet loads.

A few sample articles about warehousing topics:

• International Chamber of Commerce INCOTERMS Rules - The Incoterms® rules are an internationally recognized standard and are used worldwide in international and domestic contracts for the sale of goods.

• OECD - Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development: see various laws under Topics.

• United Nations Convention on Contracts for the International Sale of Goods (Vienna, 1980) (CISG).

• United States Department of Commerce - federal agency that promotes trade.  See also the International Trade Administration.

• U.S. Code - the codification of federal law.