Logistics and Supply Chain Management: Databases and Open-Source Journals

Library databases

• ABI/Inform Global - The best resource for business research. Full-text of thousands of business journals, including essential scholarly journals and important trade journals. Also included are The Wall Street Journal and The Economist. For search help, refer to the detailed User Guide.
• EBSCO is our main journal database collection. Academic Search Premier has some logistics titles, but Business Source Elite has the best coverage, with seven journals, of which 5 feature current or relatively current articles (see the list below).
• HSDL (Homeland Security Digital Library) - This collection has thousands of articles covering supply chain security. Use the Advanced Search option to help narrow your searches.

Open-Source Journal

• Homeland Security Affairs - "Homeland Security Affairs is the peer-reviewed online journal of the Naval Postgraduate School Center for Homeland Defense and Security (CHDS), providing a forum to propose and debate strategies, policies, and organizational arrangements to strengthen U.S. homeland security."

When constructing a search, use AND to connect your search terms or phrases. This tells the computer to find every article with those words. The last example searches for a company and the subject of logistics.

• "truckload carrier" AND revenues (note the phrase enclosed in quotes). In theory, that find items with exactly that phrase.
• activity based costing AND transportation
• commodity rate AND railroad
• pepsico AND logistics

You can also search within a journal in EBSCO. Type a journal title in the Publication box in the Basic Search screen.
***************************

Below is a video demonstrating how to find peer-reviewed journals in the ABI/Inform database:

***************************

Below is a video demonstrating how to find peer-reviewed journals in some of the EBSCO databases: