LibGuides: Early Childhood Education: Children's Literature

Reference Sources

Best Books for Children by John T. Gillespie; Catherine Barr
Call Number: Ref PN1009 .A1 B37 2010
ISBN: 9781591585756
Publication Date: 2010
"This indispensable selection guide brings together information on nearly 25,000 of the best fiction and nonfiction for children in grades K-6.
The Continuum Encyclopedia of Children's Literature by Bernice E. Cullinan
Call Number: Ref PN1008.5 .C66 2003
ISBN: 0826415164
Publication Date: 2005
With 1,200 biographical-critical entries and nearly 100 topical articles all written by experts in the field, The Continuum Encyclopedia of Children's Literature is the most complete and up-to-date single-volume reference source on the subject. The work covers 150 years of children's literature in many countries: The United States, Great Britain, Canada, continental Europe, Australia, New Zealand, Africa, and Asia. Biographical-critical entries include authors as well as illustrators.
Multicultural Picturebooks by Sylvia S. Marantz; Kenneth A. Marantz
Call Number: Ref PN1009 .A1 M267 2005
ISBN: 9780810849334
Publication Date: 2004
Picturebook," spelled as a single word to identify its unique qualities and to differentiate the genre from other books with illustrations, is one that tells a story either in pictures alone or in almost equal partnership with text. And the goal of multiculturalism is to emphasize the positive attributes of human society, the outstanding, rather than the stereotype.
Who's Who in Children's Books by Margery Fisher
Call Number: Ref PN1009 .A1 F575
ISBN: 0030150914
Publication Date: 1975-10-01

Finding Books

Library Catalog

Title Search

Select Title in the Search Within menu. Skip initial "The,"A," or "An." For example, to find a copy of The Tale of Peter Rabbit," enter "tale of peter rabbit." To find other books by Beatrice Potter, select Author in the Search Within menu, last name first: "potter, beatrice." Here is the record:

The Tale of Peter Rabbit by Beatrix Potter
Call Number: PZ7 .P85 Tap 2006
ISBN: 9780723258735
Publication Date: 2006-12-28
Peter disobeys his mother by going into Mr. McGregor's garden and almost gets caught.

Library Chldren's Books Locations

Library Locations for Children's Literature

Most Children's Books are in two locations: Picture books like The Tale of Peter Rabbit are in the Children's Collection. Readers like the Harry Potter books are in Young Adult (YA).

Some classic children's literature is shelved on the second floor in literature, for example, Tolkein's The Hobbit.

Call numbers for most children's fiction begin with the letters PZ.

Oxford Encyclopedia of Children's Literature

Oxford Encyclopedia of Children's Literature
Written by an international roster of more than 300 authors, the Encyclopedia comprehensively documents and interprets the books read by children throughout the world. With a global perspective that pays attention to significant international trends and the multicultural expansion of the field, it includes brief biographies of every major author and illustrator. Also included are feature essays on all genres of children's literature, individual works, and prominent trends and themes, as well as general essays on the traditions of children's literature in many countries throughout the world. 2006.

Children and the The Joy of Reading

Finding Book Reviews on Children's Literature

Teachers often must select children's books for their classes. Common review sources for children’s books include Booklist, Horn Book Magazine, Kirkus Reviews, Library Media Connection, Publisher’s Weekly, and School Library Journal.

Several EBSCO databases provide access to these reviews.

Academic Search Premier
- Why search this database?
  This is a multi-disciplinary database that covers the breadth of human knowledge.
- What’s included?
  Subjects in this database include everything from computer sciences, engineering, history, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, and many more.
- Looking for Articles?
  This database has full-text coverage of more than 4,000 journals and magazines.
ERIC This link opens in a new window
- Why search this database?
  It's the largest repository of education research in the United States.
- What’s included?
  Content includes journal articles, research reports, curriculum and teaching guides, conference papers, dissertations and theses, and books dating back to 1966.
- Looking for Articles?
  Thousands of full-text articles are included in this direct connection to ERIC.
MasterFILE Premier
- Why search this database?
  Search here to find articles on a variety of topics.
- What’s included?
  Full-text articles for more than 1,700 journals and magazines.
- Looking for Articles?
  Lots of full-text articles available.
Professional Development Collection
- Why search this database?
  This is a core collection of peer-reviewed journals aimed at teachers and educators.
- What’s included?
  Features nearly 520 high quality education journals, including more than 350 peer-reviewed titles.
- Looking for Articles?
  Lots of articles here.

Lists of books can be found in a web search. Many are available on Amazon.com.

Caldecott Medal

Children's Books Awards

Children's Notable Lists
Each year the Association for Library Service to Children (ALSC) identifies the best of the best in children's books, recordings, and videos. Use the links below or on the menu at the left to access current and past children's notable lists, learn about the submission process, and access the current selection committee rosters.

The two most important annual awards for children's literature are the Caldecott Medal, for picture books, and the Newbery Medal, for distinguished contribution to children's literature, both given by the American Library Association. The award winning books, many of which stay in print long after the year of receiving the award, are a reliable selection for a school library.

The Caldecott Medal
The Caldecott Medal was named in honor of nineteenth-century English illustrator Randolph Caldecott. It is awarded annually by the Association for Library Service to Children, a division of the American Library Association, to the artist of the most distinguished American picture book for children.
The Newbery Medal
The Newbery Medal was named for eighteenth-century British bookseller John Newbery. It is awarded annually by the Association for Library Service to Children, a division of the American Library Association, to the author of the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children.