LibGuides: Geology of Nevada: Magazines and Peer-Reviewed Journal Articles

Databases with Magazine Articles and Peer-reviewed Journal Articles on Nevada Geology

These databases include the full text of magazine and peer-reviewed journal articles.

Off-Campus Access

The databases listed in this Research Guide are available only to Truckee Meadows Community College students, faculty and staff. You will need your TMCC credentials (Username and Password) to access them off-campus.

Databases with Magazine Articles on Nevada Geology

MasterFILE Premier
- Why search this database?
  Search here to find articles on a variety of topics.
- What’s included?
  Full-text articles for more than 1,700 journals and magazines.
- Looking for Articles?
  Lots of full-text articles available.

Sample Magazine Articles on Nevada Geology

Geology of Nevada
By members of the Nevada Bureau of Mines and Geology, Price, Jonathan G., Henry, Christopher D., Castor, Stephen B., Garside, Larry, Faulds, James E., in Rocks & Minerals, November/December 1999.
more...less...
Focuses on the geology of Nevada. Rock exposures in the desert; Access to collection on public lands; Tourist attractions in the towns; Rocks and minerals in the state.
Gambling on Geology
By Rebecca Coffey, Discover, November 2010. The author focuses on various natural sites near Las Vegas, Nevada that demonstrate geology and plate tectonics. In the Red Rock Canyon National Conservation Area, different geologic layers are displayed, exposed on the mountain sides. The Keystone Thrust fault displays a significant Cretaceous uplift. The Spring Mountains, formed during the Cretaceous period by massive slabs of seabed limestone, is also mentioned.

Rainbow Vista, Valley of Fire State Park, Nevada

Sample Peer-Reviewed Journal Article from Academic Search Premier

Geology, geochronology, and geochemistry of the Miocene--Pliocene Ancestral Cascades arc, northern Sierra Nevada, California and Nevada: The roles of the upper mantle, subducting slab, and the Sierra Nevada lithosphere.
By Brian Cousins, et al. In Geosphere, October 2008.
The assemblage of ca. 28-3 Ma volcanic rocks exposed in the Lake Tahoe-Reno region of the northern Sierra Nevada, United States, is interpreted to be part of the Ancestral Cascades volcanic arc. The volcanic rocks are commonly highly porphyritic, including abundant plagioclase with clinopyroxene, amphibole, and rare biotite, and range from basaltic andesite to dacite in composition.

What Is a Peer-Reviewed Article?

Peer Review is a process that journals use to ensure the articles they publish represent the best scholarship currently available. When an article is submitted to a peer reviewed journal, the editors send it out to other scholars in the same field (the author's peers) to get their opinion on the quality of the scholarship, its relevance to the field, its appropriateness for the journal, etc.

Publications that don't use peer review (Time, Cosmo, Salon) just rely on the judgement of the editors whether an article is up to snuff or not. That's why you can't count on them for solid, scientific scholarship. --University of Texas at Austin

Databases with Peer-Reviewed Journals

Most of the following databases require a login ID and password. See the Reference Librarian for assistance.

Academic Search Premier
You must check Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals, before you click Search, or modify the search after you have received your results. Check with the Reference Librarian to determine if a journal article is peer reviewed.