Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
What Is a Peer-Reviewed Article?
Peer Review is a process that journals use to ensure the articles they publish represent the best scholarship currently available. When an article is submitted to a peer reviewed journal, the editors send it out to other scholars in the same field (the author's peers) to get their opinion on the quality of the scholarship, its relevance to the field, its appropriateness for the journal, etc.
Publications that don't use peer review (Time, Cosmo, Salon) just rely on the judgement of the editors whether an article is up to snuff or not. That's why you can't count on them for solid, scientific scholarship. --University of Texas at Austin
Databases with Peer-Reviewed Genealogy Articles
The databases listed in this Research Guide are available only to Truckee Meadows Community College students, faculty and staff. You will need your TMCC credentials (Username and Password) to access them off-campus.
In most of these databases, you must check Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals, usually before you click Search, or modify the search after you have received your results. Check with the Reference Librarian to determine if a journal article is peer reviewed.
Academic Search Premier
- Why search this database?
This is a multi-disciplinary database that covers the breadth of human knowledge.
- What’s included?
Subjects in this database include everything from computer sciences, engineering, history, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, and many more.
- Looking for Articles?
This database has full-text coverage of more than 4,000 journals and magazines.
"An interdisciplinary archive of thousands of journals in the arts, humanities, and social sciences."
"Multidisciplinary database provides full text for nearly 1,700 periodicals with full-text information dating as far back as 1975." Also has full-text reference books and other materials.
Professional Development Collection
" A highly specialized collection of nearly 520 high quality education journals, including more than 350 peer-reviewed titles."
Academic Journals - Know the Difference
While the terms "Academic" and "Scholarly" can often be interchanged, EBSCO uses them as follows:
Academic Journals: EBSCO defines academic journals as journals that publish articles which carry footnotes and bibliographies, and whose intended audience is comprised of some kind of research community.
It is a broad classification that includes both "peer-reviewed" journals as well as journals that are not "peer-reviewed" but intended for an academic audience.
Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals are journals that are intended for an academic audience and are peer-reviewed.
EBSCO has established specific guidelines for what we consider a peer reviewed journal. For more information, please see: What are Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) publications?
While the "peer-reviewed" classification is applied at the title level, "article type" information is provided for all articles contained in a given issue. Presenting users with "article type" enables them to become aware that even though a journal may be considered "peer-reviewed," non-peer-reviewed content such as reviews and editorials may well be included in the publication.
Open Access Genealogy Journals
Sample Peer-Reviewed Journal Article
This sample peer-reviewed article is from EBSCO's Academic Search Premier database.
The search term used is "genealogy." The Peer-Reviewed (Scholarly) box is checked.
Genealogy and Family History through Multiple Academic Lenses: An Introduction to the Special Issue
by Hershkovitz, Arnon, in Journal of Multidisciplinary Research . Spring 2016, Vol. 8 Issue 1, p 5-10. 6p.
This special issue is truly special, as it indicates yet another step forward for genealogy to become a legitimate academic discipline. While millions of people around the world are involved (to some degree) in deepening their knowledge about their family history and constructing family trees, there is only little research about this issues within the academic milieu. Mostly, we find individual scholars who combine their passion to genealogy with their academic credentials and conduct academic studies relevant both to genealogy and to their fields of research. This is the case with the undersigned and with some of the articles in this special issue. As far as I know, there are no research-based departments of genealogy--or of family history, for that matter--in any academic institute. (There are many such departments in academic institutes' libraries, but usually academic research is not within their scope.) As a result, the existing genealogy-related research is scattered across disciplines and communities--therefore, the importance of this special issue, as it demonstrates the rigorous, multi-faceted research in this field.
EBSCO provides a citation for the works cited or references page of a paper. Simply click the icon in the menu on the left side of the article summary to get a list of citations in various formats.