Skip to main content

Genealogy and Family History: NV Research

A guide to assist those interested in starting a family history project.

Resources for Nevada Genealogical Research

Below is a list of resources available in Nevada to assist you in your family tree research. 

Resources Available at the TMCC Library

The TMCC Library has several databases that will help with your genealogy research. These can be accessed from any computer in the library.

  • American Antiquarian Society Historical Periodicals Collections 1-5
  • AniMaps
  • Familysearch.org (We are a FamilySearch affiliate library, as such we have access to additional content beyond what you can access from home)
  • Gale Biography and Genealogy Master Index
  • New York Times Newspaper Archives

We also offer:

  • A strong genealogy collection in paper and eBook form
  • One on one appointments to help with your research
  • Copy Machines
  • Flatbed Scanners with stitching software
  • A free community borrowing card for those who live locally 
  • Guest computer access 
  • Interlibrary loans for students and faculty
  • Two Book Scanning machines
  • Coming soon: StoryCorps

Nevada: State and County Government Agencies

Historic Nevada Newspapers

Nevada Obituaries

Northern Nevada: Local Depository

Nevada's Involvement in the Civil War

Did your Nevada ancestor serve in the Civil War? Below are some resources that might help with your research.

Nevada Genealogy: Books

If you are doing genealogical research on your Nevada ancestors, William Dollarhide's books will be of great value to you. These books are available through an Interlibrary Loan. See your local librarian for more information.

TMCC Library: Ebscohost

Would you like to read the Clark County Nevada Genealogical Society publication titled the Prospector? The TMCC Library Subscription database named Ebsco/Master File Complete contains full text from this publication from 2009-2016.

If you are a student you can click on this link and use your TMCC sign in to access it. If you are a community member, simply open this link from any computer on the TMCC campus:

http://web.b.ebscohost.com.ezproxy.tmcc.edu:2048/ehost/search/basic?vid=1&sid=7ba38814-1856-47a3-91ac-cae64a37c9e1%40sessionmgr101

When the link opens up, scroll down past the list of databases that have a check mark next to them. Put a check mark next to Master File Complete, then copy and paste this into the search box:

JN "Prospector (Clark County Nevada Genealogical Society)"