Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Using Old Photos To Further Your Family History Research
Do you have shoe boxes, photo albums or drawers full of old family photographs and postcards? If you do, there is probably a chance that no one ever wrote on the back of them. So who are those people in your old photographs and postcards? When and where were the pictures taken? Is there a story behind the photograph? If you think there's no way to ever answer these questions, you are wrong! Each picture and post card tells a story, learning how to find the forensic clues on each one just might make the difference between a useless picture and a treasured family photograph. Want to know how? See below.
Books Available at the TMCC Library: Finding Clues in Old Photographs
The Dead Horse Investigation by
Call Number: CS 14 F58 2008
Publication Date: 2008-04-01
The Dead Horse Investigation: Forensic Photo Analysis for Everyone is a handy layman's how-to guide on identifying old photos using forensic science techniques. The book includes instructional chapters, as well as case studies and stories that illustrate a range of interesting identification mthods. The Dead Horse Investigation includes two chapters dedicated to the history of photography, with tips on how to identify the various types of photos, from Daguerreotypes, ambrotypes, and tintypes, to modern snapshots. Other chapters examine clues that can be obtained from the physical characteristics of a photograph, and describe the types of clues that can be found from the contents of an image.
Family Photo Detective by
Call Number: TR 147 .T39 2013
Publication Date: 2013
Historical family photos are cherished heirlooms that offer a glimpse into the lives of our ancestors. But the images, and the stories behind them, often fade away as decades pass - the who, when, where and why behind the photos are lost. In this book, photo identification expert and genealogist Maureen A. Taylor shows you how to study the clues in your old family photos to put names to faces and recapture their lost stories.
Forensic Genealogy by
Call Number: CS 14 .F58 2013
Publication Date: 2013
Have you ever considered looking at the edges of an old photograph to find out who is in the picture? Have you ever considered epidemics as a source of genealogical information? How can you use DNA to connect your family with historical events long in the past? These are only a few of the surprising connections Forensic Genealogy offers for investigating the where, who, when, and why of your family history.
How to Archive Family Photos by
Call Number: TR 465 .M398 2015
Publication Date: 2015
You've captured countless cherished family photos of babies' first steps, graduations, weddings, holidays, vacations, and priceless everyday moments on your smartphone or digital camera. Perhaps you've inherited a collection of heirloom family photographs, too. But now what? How to Archive Family Photos is a practical how-to guide for organizing your growing digital photo collection, digitizing and preserving heirloom family photos, and sharing your treasured photos.
Picture Postcards in the United States, 1893-1918 by
Call Number: NC 1872 .R9 1982
Publication Date: 1982
A thorough study of the early development of the postcard in America reveals its importance as a source of historical data and as a unique form of folk art.
Preserving Your Family Photographs by
Call Number: TR 465 .T35 P74 2010
Publication Date: 2010
Maureen A. Taylor, author of Uncovering Your Ancestry Through Family Photographs, provides all the information you need to care for your family photograph collection. She outlines in straightforward steps how to add value to your home collection by using the methods that conservators and photo curators use every day!
Using Clothing Styles and Fashion in Old Photographs and Heirlooms To Pinpoint Time and Place
Podcast: Find the Clues in Your Old Family Photographs
Using Google Chrome To Help Identify Old Family Photographs
The Various Types of Old Photographs
Identifying Old Photographs
Samples of Ebsco Database Articles: Family Photographs
Understanding Family Photos
The article, through referencing a family photograph from the early 1910s, discusses the genealogy of the Maynard family. An overview of the Maynard family's origin in Kent, England, residence in India as Protestant missionaries and settling in Victoria, British Columbia around 1915 is provided. The article presents a timeline for members of the Maynard family from 1913 through 1917, which tracks their emigration from England to Canada. Topics, including deaths, age, children, family size, birth dates, are discussed. A brief profile is provided of Joyce Maynard, including her birth in Great Britain in 1905 and her sailing from Liverpool, England to Montreal, Quebec in 1912.
Six Glimpses of the Past
A personal narrative is presented in which the author discusses six photographs collected from her family's past.
INCONGRUOUS IMAGES: “BEFORE, DURING, AND AFTER” THE HOLOCAUST
When historians, archivists, and museologists turn to Eastern European photos from family albums or collections—for example, photos from the decades preceding the Holocaust and the early years of the Second World War—they seek visual evidence or illustrations of the past. But photographs may refuse to fit expected narratives and interpretations, revealing both more and less than we expect. Focusing on photos of Jews taken on the main avenues of Cern&acaron;uţi, Romania, before the Second World War and during the city's occupation by Fascist Romanians and their Nazi-German allies, this essay shows how a close reading of these vernacular images, both for what they show and what they are unable to show, can challenge the “before, during, and after” timeline that, in Holocaust historiography, we have come to accept as a given.