The Oxford Dictionary defines etymology as the study of the origin of words and the way in which their meanings have changed throughout history.
So how does this relate to my family history research? Knowing how your ancestors given and surnames may have changed over time could make the difference between finding, or not finding their records. But we have some great resources to help you research your ancestors changing names. See below.
Cassell Dictionary of Proper Names by 
A Dictionary of Names, Nicknames, and Surnames of Persons, Places and Things by 
The Facts on File Dictionary of First Names by 
A Handbook of Scandinavian Names by Our Names: Where they came from and what they mean by Webster's Dictionary of Proper Names by What's in a name? : how proper names became everyday words by Did you know that you can create free accounts on the Internet Archive and Google Books? Doing so grants you free access to many titles.
Chinese American Names by 
Christian Names in Local and Family History by 
Dictionary of French Family Names in North America: Onomastics and Genealogy by 
A Dictionary of Jewish Names and Their History by 
A Dictionary of Jewish Surnames from the Russian Empire by A dictionary of names, nicknames, and surnames of persons, places and things by A Dictionary of Names, Nicknames, and Surnames of Persons, Places and Things by 
Hispanic Surnames and Family History by 
In Search of Your Asian Roots by 
Oxford Dictionary of English Surnames by 
Scottish Clan and Family Names by 
Surnames, DNA, and Family History by 
